Posted by: Jim E | April 19, 2017

Some “Jeremy Stories”…And Stuff…

A little more about Jeremy in this post…it is impossible to go through a day without something reminding us about him…yesterday we went to the dentist for our checkup and cleaning…I was first on the list, Judie followed…as I checked out at the desk, telling her that Judie would be paying for both of us after she was finished…I then asked her about Jeremy’s bill…he had gone in for his checkup last month, so I knew he had a bill there…I asked, “Jeremy has a bill.”…she said, “It’s been taken care of.”…they knew of Jeremy’s passing, in fact the doctor and his wife came to Jeremy’s visitation…but it struck me as a wonderful tribute to our son…Jeremy one of the last pictures013

I thanked her…turned and walked away…now, let me tell you, both Judie and I are on the edge of tears when it comes to Jeremy…and being reminded of something about him, triggers it…so as I walked away, I was already tearing up…but as I got out to the car…I just broke down and sobbed…I can’t exactly explain it…but it happens yet…after a month has gone by…we still mourn Jeremy…we miss him…think of him often…talk about him many times…we are okay, really, but we are taking our time in healing…and will never forget Jeremy and what he was in our lives…

Oh, we are upbeat…I go back to the day of his death…we made the decision early that morning…about 4:30 a.m., that we would celebrate his life…and that week of the funeral, it went just like I wanted it…did I plan it all, no, but it went the way I wanted to celebrate his life…we got emails, cards, and online messages from Jeremy’s past, and present…from elementary and high school teachers and coaches…from customers at Cub Foods in Andover, MN…from Kroger, here in Little Rock, AR…fellow workers at Cub and Kroger…doctors who knew him from Mayo Clinic to here in Little Rock…Judie got a call from his dermatologist, at 8:00 one morning…the Chevy dealership here in Little Rock, who knew Jeremy so well, when I went in for an oil change, etc…said, “No charge.”…it goes on and on…Jeremy was special…and so are all these people and more that I have not mentioned…they were God’s gift to Jeremy…

Little things mean a lot…a name of an old song, but also a true statement…so many have wanted Jeremy’s funeral bulletin, and the service, and the posts about his life…Judie has sent out many over the past weeks…

When I pass by Jeremy’s room, I wave…and maybe say something…the room has changed from what it was when he was here…but it will always be Jeremy’s Room…how can it be anything but…there is a new hardwood floor, something that Jeremy's room updated 2017was going to be done for him by his brother, Jess, even before his died…but we have changed a number of things…there is no bed, but a hide-a-bed…most of his truck collection is put away, until we decide what to do with all of them…we left some of his things on the wall, and some trucks on the special shelves up high…I will attach a picture to show some of it…also a rug on the floor…but whatever we have done…it is still Jeremy’s room…

My mind goes back often to the morning of March 19th…sometimes I beat myself up a bit…and say to Jeremy, in my mind…”Did I miss something”…”I wish I could have done more”…”We got you though all kinds of problems over the years, but failed you this time”…but I know that is not healthy to think that way…we know now that too many “things” were coming together…too many “things” for us to “get hold of”…and all these things came together that morning…as I told some since that day, all the doctors in Little Rock, and add all the doctors from Mayo Clinic, could not have brought Jeremy back that morning…we believe God took him that day to save him from a near future that none of us would like to have seen him go through…

But at the same time, we miss him…his humor…his zest for living…his deep faith…his character…his courage…on the Thursday morning before he died, and we found he had fallen, between the toilet and the wall…(a few months before Jared, his brother, had helped update his bathroom…a new toilet, grab bars, etc.)…when we went in that morning, Jeremy was hanging on to the grab bar with both hands…when I got to him he was shivering, we don’t know how long he was hanging on…I picked him up and held him…I had to peal his hands off the grab bar…for a split second, I thought how proud Jared would be that Jeremy used the grab bar he put up…and so proud his brothers would be of how Jeremy had not lost the courage and strength to hang on…I held Jeremy that morning and told him, “Dad’s got ya.”…put him back to bed…the rest is still fresh in my mind…

Jeremy knew he had certain handicaps…he nor we, as his parents, ever mentioned them or talked about them…we just dealt with them…of course he did too, everyday…what strength of character…he compensated for what he did not have…I have a picture of him opening up his gifts at his 46th birthday, almost one year ago…how great he looked…he was having some problems but not like later in the Jeremy opening gifts012year…the picture is wonderful to show how he, with humor, and wit…mostly non-verbal…dealt with this situation…he, like his Dad, I guess…thought cards were a waste of money…but also he gave up reading them long ago!…he had some reading difficulties but also he found it a waste of time…”Let’s get to the gifts!”…if you know what I mean…so check out the picture…notice the card…and the wry smile…that was the Jeremy we all knew…

So how could we forget him…our son, my hero, my example for life…my best friend…

Responses

  1. Jim your writings are so uplifting, encouraging for any struggle any of us are in, and most of all such a loving and colorful way to continue to honor Jeremy. Thank you and Judie for sharing your heart and your memories! Jane Richey, neighbor

    • Jane…Thanks…he was such a fighter…and yet so kind and gentle…Jim E

  2. WE CONTINUE TO PRAY FOR YOUR HEALING HEARTS. WE CANNOT IMAGINE YOUR PAIN. THANKFULLY, YOU HAVE SO MANY WONDERFUL MEMORIES. WE KNOW HE IS CLOSE IN YOUR HEARTS. .

    • Larry…thanks…Jim E

  3. Jim, thankyou for sharing your beautiful son Jeremy’s story! God bless you an Judie! DOTTIE Woodhull

    • Dottie…thanks, he was such a good person…a wonderful son…and stayed positive his whole life…Jim E

  4. I love what you write about Jeremy!!

    • Ann…thanks…he is easy to write about…we miss him…Jim E

  5. I feel the hurt of losing him. Such love from his family. In some ways he was a lucky man.
    Hurts to think of what he went through in life. Take care Jim and Judy

    Sent from my iPad

    • Sharon…thanks…isn’t it something, we all were at Jack’s funeral…and just a little over 2 weeks and Jeremy was gone…he was really struggling when we were up for the funeral…but he did fine…but everyday was a hard time for him to get started…too many things came together to end his life…but he lives on in our lives…Jim E

  6. My first thought, and my “always” thought of my entire time of being around him, “So full of life!!!”. Oh what a precious man of God.

    • Mary…thanks…my thoughts too…Jim E

  7. Jim: Keep writing the stories, as it will help with the grieving process. Grieving has no time limit – it takes time. No need to rush through the process. Praying for you and Judie. Ruth

    On Wed, Apr 19, 2017 at 5:28 PM, Your Roving Reporter wrote:

    > Jim E posted: “A little more about Jeremy in this post…it is impossible > to go through a day without something reminding us about him…yesterday we > went to the dentist for our checkup and cleaning…I was first on the list, > Judie followed…as I checked out at the des” >

    • Ruth…thanks…Jim E

  8. MY HEART GOES OUT TO YOU . . . YOU AND JIM. Wonderful PARENTS .

    • Thanks…Jim E


Leave a Reply

Categories

