Posted by: Jim E | November 17, 2012

Fall…Birds…Flowers…All Seem To Praise Him…

Okay, Okay…so I have been MIA for about a month…I admit it, I have been lax concerning posting anything during election time…wrapped up a bit with that…and other things…my desk just piles up with “stuff” to write about…so let me start today…I have a moment of time…so here goes…

Here in the Mid-South, as they call it here in Little Rock, Arkansas…fall has fallen…since we are transplants from the Upper Midwest…I guess we are still “Middies”…we still live in the Central Time Zone…but just a bit further south…and I suppose in my dotage I will never get used to the vast difference in weather here as opposed to Minnesota…if I was in Minnesota, we would have put away all things concerning warm weather…hoses, outdoor furniture, etc…well, even here we have put away hoses and turned off our sprinkler system…though we don’t have to drain it as we would in Minnesota…basically no frozen ground here…in Minnesota the frost could go down 3 or 4 feet…quite a difference…

We still have 4 seasons…but the length is certainly different too…we still have flowers blooming in our yard…azaleas are still blooming…we will put Christmas lights over the flowers next week as we decorate our bushes in the courtyard…and of course Judie just planted flowers outdoors this week…pansies are winter flowers here…and bloom all winter…there are bushes blooming along the road as we drove for coffee this morning…frost on the grass and roofs but not enough to kill all plants…it still suprises me…even snow, if we have some this year, don’t seem to bother the flowers…

But this is Fall…we are just over the peak of color here…it seems strange, like I said, to have leaves on the trees this late in the year…but I love it…so I will add some pictures Judie took this Fall…and it will go on for a while…people rake leaves right into January and February…and then all the sudden spring is here…late February, March and April…flowers and color just bursts on the scene…for a Minnesota boy, it is startling…

And the birds…some winter ones are back…when the Dark Eyed Junco return from up north, I know we are in winter…I haven’t seen any yet…but they are due…they are in Minnesota too…they come from Canada to Minnesota and even Arkansas for the winter…I used to watch them in great numbers at our feeders in Minnesota…20 below zero, with wind, blowing snow and wind chill at 40 or 50 below…and they were merrily going from feeder to feeder for something to eat…they come in bunches…not just a few here and there but flocks of them…it is great to see them…beautiful little birds…how they live through those Minnesota winters, I’ll never know…feed the birds, I say…

Speaking of birds, verse jumped off the page this week…Psalm 84:3-4 “Even the sparrow finds a home, and the swallow a nest for herself where she may lay her young, at a place near your alter, O Lord Almighty, my King and my God! What joy for those who can live in Your house, always singing Your praises.”…the Psalm begins with a desire of the Psalmist…“How lovely is your dewelling place, O Lord Almighty! My soul yearns, even faints, for the courts of the Lord;…”…And you know I look at the beauty we find all around us…the leaves of the trees, the birds, all of God’s wonders…and I too marvel at it all…is it a wonder that so many people love the changing of seasons?…so many are interested in watching birds and feeding them?…nature is so beautiful…and isn’t it written on our hearts somewhere to worship the One who created all this…it is marvelous in our eyes…even the birds want to nest and raise their young near His alter…all of us who have enjoyed nature understand this idea…

So we will enjoy this long fall season…and winter to follow and an EARLY spring…it’s like that here…long hot summer, long fall, short mild winter and long spring…it all works out in the end…I loved Minnesota all the six, and more, decades I live there…and we are enjoying this too…

Responses

  1. Hi Jim!
    Welcome back!! Glad to “see” you again! I was getting worried about you and your family when I didn’t see any posts for awhile. I’m glad everythng’s going well for you. Happy Thanksgiving to you, Judie and your famliy!!
    Take care,
    Julie

    • Hi Julie…yup, back after a bit of a hiatus…hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving with family…will be back at it in the next day or so…thanks for the comment…Jim E


Leave a Reply

Categories

