Posted by: Jim E | August 11, 2012

It Was Sunday…And Death On Taylor Loop…

Last Sunday was like most of my days…I get up early, usually before 6:00 and wake up Jeremy…he had to go to work that Sunday morning…so I spent a little time at my desk and on the computer…and after he got ready, we left for his work…Sundays are really slow around us…very little traffic…and the trip to get him to work was uneventful…it was a beautiful day…the sun was shining, it was hot, as usual…but still beautiful…

I came back home to get ready for our trip to church…we go to the early service, so we leave about 8:45…somehow we left a bit early, guess we just got off to an earlier start…so we hopped in the car an started toward church…it is about a 5 minute trip to church, down Taylor Loop and then right on Rahling…just a short trip…hardly any traffic on the road at that time…we enjoy that part of the ride…as we traveled near Rahling Road on Taylor Loop…we noticed up ahead something unusual…you know “out of the norm”…and when I see something abnormal, as I always taught my kids, slow down, at least until you can see what is going on…there were a couple of vehicles parked along Taylor Loop…one on one side and at least one on the other…there are no shoulders there to amount to anything…so cars would have trouble “fitting” between them…by now I was not only slowing…but braking…

We notice something laying in the opposite lane we were traveling in…in the left lane…we were in the right lane…I wondered out loud if what was in the lane was a pile of clothes…but then as soon as that thought came out…I thought, is it an animal…and as we moved closer…both Judie and I said…no, its a person…you can imagine our thoughts…frankly, as I write this, that sensation still wells up in me…that is something none of us can perceive without trying to reject it…there was a man trying to direct any traffic that may come…but I could see that the lane that the body was in was not guarded…the first sensation was, I don’t want anyone to try and get around the cars parked and not see the body…

We saw immediately that the person was no longer alive…I will not describe the scene but there was no doubt she was not alive…I backed up so my car blocked the lane she was in…the last thing I wanted was for a car to come down that lane…I put my blinkers on…I called out to a couple of people who were there already, if the authorities had been called…they said yes…but they weren’t there…evidently, the accident happened only a couple of minutes before we got there…but I decided to call on our Onstar service…they answered and I told them we were at an accident scene and needed the police to come now…I asked if she knew where we were…she said, “At the intersection of Blackthorn Street and Taylor Loop Road.”…I told her she was right and we needed the police there right now…we just wanted this woman to be taken care of…I told them the situation and they needed to get there…by the time I got that out…Onstar had the police on the phone with us and the police said they would be there in seconds…she was right…we heard the sirens…Onstar asked if she could help in any other way…we signed off…the ambulance, police and fire were there about the same time…the ambulance parked next to me to block the lane…and we decided we needed to be out of the way…and left for church…that was a mistake, we only stayed for part of the service and left…just couldn’t get the accident off our minds…

I really don’t know how it all happened…that is for the police to determine…in fact they were there when we got back from church…they had the road blocked as they pieced it together…they were there for a couple of hours after…

Let me piece some other observations together…you may wonder why I am writing about this at all…but it has been on my mind all week long…in my former life as a principal…as an interim pastor…and working closely with people all my working life, I have seen a of lot life but also a lot of death…too much I guess…and when involved with that situation, my professional life and attitude “kick in”…if you know what I mean…”things” need to be dealt with and it needs to be done efficiently…and done now…no room for emotion at the time…but in all the times I have dealt with these life changing events…there is always residual effect…and some of that is remembering and going over in my mind what happened…so that is some of the reason why I write about it…did I do right by the people involved…

Let me go back…when we got there, we were one of the first two or three on the scene…after I blocked the lane…I asked what happened…the man who hit her was broken…he called 911 and was waiting for the police to come…he said he was on his way to Sunday School…and something about wishing he was dead, he leaned on our car…I told him to take it easy, he did right by coming back and calling 911…he went back to the corner to wait…there were others that came on the scene…a woman stopped and looked…she went back to her car and brought a blanket and tried carefully to cover the body…she, like Judie and I, wanted this person to be respected…we wondered out loud if she had identification…someones wife, mother, grandmother was there…it broke our hearts…many lives were effected by that moment in time…this all happened in minutes after we got there…neighbors came out to see what happened…and later we heard that neighbors went door to door to see if anyone knew this person…we felt that the police had done this kind of thing before and would find out…but neighbors helping neighbors was encouraging…

Now where does all this lead me…like I have already said, death is not new to me…but it is always a surprise…even when it is expected in someone we love…and they are expected to die, when it occurs it is still a surprise…and when it comes to someone who is full of life and expectancy, even more so…these people involved with this accident are good and decent people…the whys of this are far above my pay grade…but it did happen…and what will come out of this, again is beyond my abilities to determine…but I do know that a God in heaven who loves us…He is watching and waiting…drawing everyone of us to Himself…

I know this may seem out of the ordinary for me…like the sound of a minor key…or dissonance or discordant to my usual style of writing…but it happened and I needed to write it down…let me add something here I just ran across, no less discordant but extols the One Who waits for us…its called: 

Every Soul Waits in the Wings”…Every soul waits in the wings. / Every life taken in age, tired and ready, taken in youth, in shock and sorrow, taken in pain or taken in peace, every needle now hidden in shadow waits in eager silence. / I see my cousin. My nephew. / Many faces, forgotten by those who followed behind, known always by the Author who needs no stone reminders. / He is the best of all possible audiences, the only Audience to see every scene, the Author who became a Character and heaped every shadow on Himself. (by N.D. Wilson, Notes From The Tilt-A-Whirl)…

So for all of us…life faces us with challenges that we can do with what we wish…for this week, I will chose to remember the one whose life we lost…and also remember all the others left behind…I have great hope in all of that…

 

 

Responses

  1. What a terrible occurrence, Jim. Thanks for your thoughts on a subject most of us deliberately avoid thinking about- the fragility of life. It was very good to see people stepping up and being compassionate towards the unfortunate woman.

    • W.S…thanks for the last couple of comments…we just got back from a long vacation and have not been online for all of that time…will “get back to it” sometime soon…but appreciated you comments…thanks again…Jim E

  2. Hi Jim!
    I’m so glad you’re ok. I’ve been checking your blog quite often and have been worried that something happened with you or your family (especially with Hurricane Isaac blowing through AR). I’m glad you were vacationing and enjoying some time time off. Did you go out of town for vacation? Maybe back to MN? It’s good to see you back on here. “Talk” to you soon!
    Julie

    • Julie…thanks for checking up on me…we’re fine…just a road trip (check my new post) and getting back to normal…I really have been lax on getting back to posting…but will try and do better…we were gone during Isaac…so missed all the rain…but things sure “greened” up, we noticed when we came back…I think about you and all the other Ohio and Imjustwalkin crowd many times…those were good days…Heavens, everyday I’m upright and breathing, is a good day…thanks…Jim E


Leave a Reply

Categories

