Posted by: Jim E | May 28, 2012

Memorial Day…1940 Census…Gold Star Families…The Flag…

I was perusing  the 1940 Census the other day…you may say, “What?”…and you may add, “You were going through the 1940 Census for what reason?”…I know, I know, you may think it a bit foolish and maybe a waste of time…but if you get started, you may find some interesting information…(did you know that the government doesn’t release Census information like this until 72 years pass, soooo 2012 is it)…and of course you may check whether the information that you have always been told is correct…or if it doesn’t seem to follow…then what may be the reason it is wrong…were people lying to you or was there something they were trying to hide…or maybe it doesn’t matter, but interesting to think about…Jim Burton, for example was born in New York, his wife, Mary was born in Norway…I always thought he was born in England, what with all his stories…maybe he was, maybe he wasn’t…but it’s in the 1940 Census…who is Jim Burton???…just someone I knew…

Another example, when I was growing up, we had a neighborhood store called “Feld’s”…they lived above the store…they were Jews, certainly one of the few in our neighborhood, I didn’t know any others…we lived just outside the Minneapolis city limits and North Minneapolis had a large population of Jews…so that’s where they went to synagogue…but the Feld family were part of our neighborhood…they helped families through the depression…and I remember Max and Tillie well, they were Ma and Pa…and the three boys Bill, Fred and Al…Max and Tillie were born in Austria, according to the 1940 Census…I don’t know this for sure, but Max and Tillie came here from their native Austria…maybe to escape the persecution of the Jews in Europe or maybe just for a better life…all their boys were born here, grew up and went to school with my Mom and her siblings…and all the boys served in WWII…and all made it back from the war…they were a big and important part of our neighborhood, even while I was growing up…we loved that store, penny candy, cokes, ice cream…all the good stuff…

But just down the service road, along highway 55 in Golden Valley, Minnesota…as I noticed in the 1940 Census…lived the Trautmiller’s…and as I remember, their house was back off the road a bit, on a slight hill…I remember the screened in porch…Dad worked for the railroad, he was a hostler (betcha don’t know that one, saw it in the 1940 Census)…and when I was young, sometime just after WWII, I noticed for a long time the stars in their front window…one of them was Gold Star…one of their boys died during the war…somehow in my mind it was early on…Guadalcanal or Tarawa come to mind but I am just mining my memory on that, I’m just not sure…my Mom and Dad would know, they are in the 1940 Census too, but not alive to tell me…but somehow even as a 7 or 8 years old, I knew there was something sacred about the Trautmiller’s…there were other people who had stars in their windows but not a Gold Star like theirs…to this day I remember…

And also in the 1940 Census, my Grandfather on my Dad’s side…I knew he worked for the railroad…the 1940 Census says he was a helper machinist for the steam railroad…well, I have never heard of the Steam Railroad…but I saw that term all over the 1940 Census…it was to make the distinction between public rail…like street cars or light rail…of course in 1940 there were mostly steam locomotives in use at that time…in fact when my Mom took my brother Jack and me to meet my Dad coming back from the Pacific at the end of WWII, in 1945…we took the “steam railroad” from Minneapolis to San Francisco…wooden cars, smoke filled from coal burning locomotives…no A/C so in came the smoke…they saved the best cars for the troops…Mom said the rats came along for free…it was okay with me, I was only three…

With all my talk of the 1940 Census…all that talk, pales in significance to the meaning of today, Memorial Day…though I hope it was not all wasted talk…it may show how our own history is filled full of references and connections to past and present wars, and our history and those who have fought and died to protect all of us…the Feld family…the Trautmiller family…the Burton’s and so many others including you and I…so lets make the connections, follow the references that may help us be thankful for all that we have this Memorial Day…especially our Freedoms as a nation…they are under attack even today…we need to stand up for what young men and women have fought and died for, over the last 200 plus years…

Last night we were watching the National Memorial Day Concert from the Capitol last night…after watching for about 30 minutes or so, an announcement came that severe weather was coming and the 300,000 and more people would have to leave…but the program would go on…people started to leave…and a few minutes later they finally cancelled the entire program…that I know is a hard thing to do…but necessary…I once had to cancel an outdoor graduation ceremony in the middle of reading the names of the graduated…a hard thing to do…but it made me think of how our best laid plans…or dreams…or futures can be altered by things outside our control…and how we need to keep on with life and living…I have done so many times in life, and so have you…we adjust…but it helps to have hope and support from those around us…and most of all, our faith…

In Our Daily Bread today, there was  quote by Oswald Chambers…he was a chaplain in Egypt during WWI…(1915-1917)…he touched the lives of many soldiers who died in WWI…“On November 6, 1916, Chambers wrote in his diary: ‘We have a letter from a New Zealand friend telling us that Ted Strack has been killed. And so Ted Strack has ‘gone to be with Jesus.’ That is just how he would have put it…He was a rough beauty of nature and of grace, a fearless, loveable little saint. Thank God for every remembrance of him…so they are gathering one by one.'”…

So while I spent some time today talking about the 1940 Census…really I have been talking about how so many of those of that time are gone…so many were our parents, grandparents, friends and beyond…but I have a hope…the book of Revelation talks about a great multitude from every nation, tribe…and language…all gathered around God’s throne (Rev. 7:9)…a glad reunion…”The passing of every believer in Christ foreshadows the day when we will join them…in sadness today, we are hopeful as we see that ‘they are gathering one by one.”

And then Our Daily Bread quotes one of my favorite hymns, Beyond the Sunset: “Beyond the sunset, O glad reunion/ With our dear loved ones who’ve gone before;/ In that fair homeland we’ll know no parting…/ Beyond the sunset forevermore.”

 

 

Responses

  1. Thank you for the great memories from the past! It brought back times when my grandma would take me with and we would go to Felds store to buy meat at least a couple of times a weeks. I remember them well and later the drive in eating place and there was a 3-2 bar that my dad and grandpa frequented once in a while. We lived in Golden Valley infront of Ginni Homers home. Lots of fun times with Ginni, she was my bestest friend growing up. Thanks for the beautiful blog of the 40’s. dottie 🙂

    • Hi Darlene…Felds was a destination for sure…people came from miles around for their meat…the meat market inside that small store was a big part of things…Bill, one of the boys, was the butcher, the head of things there…Fred and Al, all had a hand in things when their folks were gone…my Mom always went there for meat…prices were good and it was good meat…I still think of that place often…they even had produce as well as other grocery items…small store but big choices…that drive-in you talk about was there for years…and the 3-2 place was what we called the “beer joint”…my Dad spent all too much time there…it was walking distance from home…I think I remember where you lived in Golden Valley…just across from the “old school”…which turned into a church, I think…in fact I think Ginni and probably you went to elementary school there…what great old building…we spent lots of time a Oscar and Helen’s home…what a great place…I think that is all gone now…new homes or something…thanks for the comments…you mentioned the railroad…in those days there were many railroad companies…all gone now, or consolidated…thanks again…Jim E

  2. also my grandpa worked on the M&Saint L Railroad for 45 years and never missed a days work. Hard working he was and he lived to be almost 98.

  3. People growing up today accept rapid change. It wasn’t always like that, was it Jim? The 1940 census is a wealth of knowledge, a window onto a different world. Amazing how things have changed.

    • W.S….thanks for the comments…sorry I didn’t reply sooner…I thought I did…old age, I guess…you’re right 1940 is a long time ago and it seems odd to be able to look into that world…and see people we love as they were so many years ago…have a great week…Jim E

  4. Wow!! I just came across this as a was trying to find some old pictures of my famlies store, Feld’s Market. My dad, Fred was one of the three sons of Max and Tillie. My family sold the store when I was about 10 years old. It’s great to hear the fond memories that many of you have of the old neighborhood. Thank you so much for the flash back and great insights. If any of you have any pictures of the store or neighborhood from the old days… I would love to seem them.

    • Randy…I’ll start out with, Wow, too…Fred was your Dad…I knew him well…well, I was just a “kid” from the neighborhood…but spent many hours in and out of their store…as I recall Fred always wore a baseball cap…don’t know why…but we knew him for that, we always wondered if he was bald or something…your Grandparents were wonderful…I don’t know if you knew them well or not…(not sure of your age or their comparative age to you)…I think most of your family, other than your Grandparents lived in North Minneapolis…I think right north of the Plymouth Ave. bridge and south of Ewald Dairy…but I am only guessing from what I assumed when I was a kid…I can’t remember if that was France Ave or what it was)…as I recall, there was a “great exodus” from north Minneapolis to St. Louis Park by the Jewish population…in maybe the 50’s and 60’s???…I regretted that for lots of reasons…I loved the “Mom and Pop” stores up on Plymouth Ave….the Deli’s on Broadway and stores…that’s where we went for “big shopping”…I could go on…that changed that area forever…not a good thing…

      I have a huge number of memories from the store and your family…such a great group…always treated this group of ruffians with kindness and humor…Max and Tillie were like grandparents to the neighborhood…when the “boys”, your dad, Al and Bill, wanted us “out”…Max and/or Tillie would stick up for us…and would then “shoo” us out the door…we would sit on the slanted door to the basement…it was out front, if you remember…and we would drink our coke and check the bottom of the bottle to see where it was from…eat our candy or whatever…get on our bikes and do it all the next day…

      My Mom grew up with the Feld boys…went to school together I believe at Meadowbrook…I remember seeing a picture or two of the three brothers playing baseball in the neighborhood with the other boys…that picture, though in my mind, is missing…I think my brother, Jack, has those but don’t know for sure…concerning pictures of the store…I have them in my mind of course…but I contacted Golden Valley Historical Society, to see if they had any pictures…they didn’t…the only thing close was some business on the corner of Wirth Parkway and Hiway 55…it is too bad…Feld’s was a very important place to that small neighborhood for all those years…a very close-knit, I think right up to the 60’s and a bit beyond…there’s a movie or a sitcom in all this, I’m sure…I married in 1963 and left to finish college in Mankato and came back in 1967 or so…then moved north of the city…and don’t really remember when Feld’s closed…you would know that…I don’t know if your parents are still living or Al or Bill…but wish them a fond hello from Dorothy Reggin’s kid…she would be “Dot” to them I suppose…she died in 2004…always had kind words about your family…course she married my Dad…she was then an Elmquist for 60 years…

      Wonderful to hear from you…I went on the internet to search for your family when I wrote about the store and your family…also pictures of the store…no luck…so this is a wonderful contact (could write a book of those days)…thanks so much…Jim E

  5. Jim,
    Where to begin…where did you live in proximity to the store? Yes my dad was bald (me too), I always remember him wearing one of the old style more formal hats, I can’t ever remember seeing him with a baseball hat, but I can see it in his younger days.

    It’s great to hear about Max and Tillie…I was very young when they passed away and don’t remember them other then from photographs…but we did name our son…Max after him. Our family lived off Washburn ave area in north Mpls and eventually moved to above the store for a few years until the store was solde. Bill and his family lived in St. Louis Park and Al and his family lived in Golden Valley. My family sold the store in 1971 or 1972. They all were great folks and have since passed away.

    I’ll talk to my sister and cousins and see if they remember your mom, Dot.. Dorothy Reggins or your family Jim. They have a much better memory for those days than I do.

    Thank you for trying to track down pictures as well. I intend to dig deeper into this with my cousins and family and hopefully come up with something. You made my day when I saw your blog post and all the kind words and memories you and others have!! Thank you and Happy New Year!!

    • Randy…that is great information…history, even family history defines us in many ways…so t his is good…we visited Golden Valley area this summer when we visited Minne apolis…the “old neighborhood”…and visited with a f ri end of my Mom’s…she , now in her late 8 0’s… but s he is very active and “with it”…she has lived in Go lden Valley, in fact in the “old neighborhood” all of her life…so she has m emories of all of that… we talked to her about “Feld’s Store” this summer too…she rem embered everyone too…but we had so m uch to talk about I can’t remember all the she s aid…she live d and still do e s , on the south side of Ols on Memorial Highw ay (or Highway 55 or as my folks called it, 6th Avenue )… her house is on Sunnyridge Lan e…it used to be Archibald Ave when I was in grade school…

      We lived on the North side of 55…on Sunnyridge Lane (Archibald, prior to the 50’s)…it is no longer there…office buildings are there now, in fact a parking ramp is where our basement house used to be…but when I viewed the 1940 census all the people of my youth, including your Grandparents and “the boys” (your Dad and uncles)…as well, as my Grandparents, George and Pearl Reggin, two of their 4 kids, Rose and Richard…my Mom, Dorothy and George were already married in 1940…and my folks lived just across 55 on Meadow Lane…all in the 1940 census…your Dad and uncles are all listed as I remember…and their ages…Max and Tillie, where they were born, what they did…etc…it is so meaningful…knowing how old the boys were and the War coming just a couple of years later, the end of 1941…

      My parents, George and Dorothy Elmquist, and us kids lived in a basement house on Sunnyridge Lane…on the north side of 55…(the street as I say is no longer there, nor the houses, etc)…at the end, or to the north was the Animal Rescue League or “dog pound” as we called it…I remember the dogs barking all the time I grew up…just part of our neighborhood, it’s still there in a newer form…we lived just two houses, but 4 or 5 lots down from the corner of 55 and Sunnyridge Lane…on that corner lived Jim and Mary Burton (I have written about the them a time or two in my blog)…Jim was about 70 when I was born in 1942, he was the real estate person for those lots, Glenwood Estates, or whatever they called that area, when it opened in the 1920’s…across the street from the Burton’s was the “liquor store”, run by “Jack”, I don’t remember his last name right now…and other stores beside his, to the east, to France Avenue…then the Glenwood Parkway (later and now Wirth Parkway)…I know Jack used to send lots of his customers to Feld’s store…lots of blacks came out from north Minneapolis to his store in the late 50’s and 60’s, don’t know why but many frequented there…and then to your store too…lots of social change during that period…that’s another subject of course…

      The picture I remember in my mind… the one of all the neighborhood kids playing baseball was in the lots between Burton’s and my Grandfather’s on Sunnyridge Lan e …there was my uncle George, and your Dad and uncles, other kids of that day…in the 30’s I suppose…but I still recognized all of them, though very young…most of them prime age to go into WWII a few years later…and I think all of them served…and all came back…I believe one in the neighborhood was killed on Tarawa or Guadalcanal, early in the war…he was a Troutmiller…they lived just three houses down from your store to the east on the service road or what was 6th Ave…later highway 55…a Gold Star in their window for years after…

      Oh, there was history there…there was a murder, based on the love triangle, he served time in Stillwater Prison…and intrigue…and the “Railroad” just behind the store, “Minneapolis, Northfield and Southern”…the “Valley Inn” just down the street, we called it the “beer joint” (where my Dad spent too much of his time, as well as too many others coming back from the War) and where “Old man Tony”, from Italy,with his broken English, came over when “Mckin ley was a’pres”, he used to say…he came from the Valley Inn one day, in his usual state and was killed on highway 55 crossing over to his home right across the highway from Feld’s…they had a vegetable stand there in the early years and a big garden…we knew all his relatives…there was Glenwood Chapel on the south side of 55, another key neighborhood icon, it’s where we went to church, small, 30 by 50 feet, mostly a Sunday School and summer programs for kids, from your Dad and my Mom’s generation the 20’s and 30’s and beyond to mine…and just normal living in that neighborhood…everyone knew everyone, your Dad and your uncles would have known all the people, places and happenings I mentioned…

      Feld’s and your family was a part of that neighborhood, helped people make it during hard times, yet were able to make it themselves…part of that world, keeping a “tab” with people who couldn’t pay now, but would pay on payday, and Feld’s helped that generation by giving them the time to pay…and Feld’s learned quick, who would pay…and that was all part of the financial training of that more simple time…where you “knew” people better, trust and trusting was a bit different then …there is more to that, but you get what I mean…

      So you may have lived above the store when I returned to Minnesota, from Michigan, in 1968 and we lived in my Grandparents house on 635 Sunnyridge Lane…they were living in a home at the time…my parents still lived in “the basement house” next door…no indoor plumbing, etc…I have written about it on my blog…amazing that at that time and all my growing up years, that’s the way it was…Golden Valley, homes with swimming pools in their basements…four car garages, friends get ting new cars for graduation, etc…and here we were living with no plumbing…probably wouldn’t be allowed today…and you lived above the store as your Grandparents did for all those years…and about the same time we lived in my Grandparents house…quite amazing…

      Your Grandparents, what a story there would be in them alone…what made them come to this country from Austria…when did they come to Golden Valley and why….building the store or was it there…raising the three boys…working with people in that neighborhood and really serving them…how about the transition from the store to adding on the meat market…I think I remember Bill coming on board then, don’t remember him before then…do you remember he cut off one of his fingers or part of one…a little more protein in the hamburger that day, I always said…(as I remember that bit of humor didn’t go over with Bill very well!!!)…Max and Tillie, I wish you could have known them better, I’m sure you have some family stories…I always stopped to talk to one or both of them, they interested me even then…older and seemed to me to have great understanding about me and kids like me…but of course I was only a kid…but you have some good genes from them…glad you named your son after him…

      I could go on…but better quit…thanks for the comeback…the old neighborhood was special like all growing up years are…and it was special because of the people who lived then and in that place…and in that time…couldn’t happen now, at least just like that…different times, different people…have a great New Year…you have great family history…hope you follow up…one more thing…my view of that time, it’s my view…others of that time my have a different take…but it doesn’t take away from my view or theirs…no doubt, times were hard for many and that may taint their view…but for me, those “hard times” still were great…I had a great youth…had nothing but that never took away from having a great time as a kid…narrow in one view but broad in the culture of that time and place…Feld’s was a large part of that experience…thanks…Jim E…(heavens did I just write part of a chapter of a memoir???)…gotta quit…

  6. Jim,
    Thanks so much for the stories and insights Jim. I would love to hear more stories, let me know when you come back to the twin cities and we can grap a coffee if your interested.

    • Randy…I don’t know when we will be back…but probably this summer some time…if it works out, time-wise, I will contact you…and see if we can have that cup of coffee…one more thing, I suppose you can guess where my wife Judie and I met???…well, sure, right outside Feld’s store, summer 1961…she and a couple of other girls were staying at the parsonage of Wirth Park Baptist Church, right across the highway, toward Meadow Lane…I don’t know if you remember it…but she just graduated from high school and was going to college that fall…free rent…so they stayed there…they were coming out of Feld’s and I pulled up in my old ’53 Ford and talked to them…well, that meeting continues today…married in 1963, so married almost 50 years…but met over 50 years ago outside “your” store…as I say, Feld’s was an important part of our history…yours too…thanks again…Jim E

  7. Oh my gosh… So I’m doing a bit of research pertaining to my grandparents, who by the way, lived at 324 Sunnyridge Lane, just south of Hwy 55. My brother Jeff and I along my mother Virgie Ann lived with them beginning in 1952. When I got big enough, my Swedish grandma Dilger would send me up to Feld’s Market with a short list of goodies she needed.. Although I sure didn’t need an incentive to go to Feld’s, she’d give me nickel to buy some candy at the front counter from Al or Fred, who always gave me an pink extra bubble gum or a piece of candy. I was no more than 6, maybe 7 then. I’d have to stand on my tippie-toes just see Bill behind the meat counter or Fred would lift me up so I could say ‘hi’. They’d always call me or Jeff the little ‘Dilinger’ kids, even though our last name wasn’t Dilger (our last name was Farnam.) My mother’s maiden name of course was Dilger and the brothers would tease her to no end, especially Fred. Plus, my mother being a 5 10″ slender red head was very easy on the eyes… all the more reason to tease her. I even recall going up to the small apartment upstairs for a treat, possibly a home-made pastry. I think it was Tillie who gave me the treat or maybe it was Al.
    Ha! The beer joint was directly up from our house on Sunnyridge Lane and across the highway. Jeff and I so looked forward to our German grandpa Ferdie taking us there so we could have a grape soda (me perched on the edge of the old wood bar) while he had a beer or two with his old cronies. I was only 5 years old then and I remember it as though it was yesterday.
    Along with Feld’s Market, The Bait Shop was another one of my ‘haunts’. Oh how I loved peering into some of those tanks that had the minnows, frogs, crayfish, and some bigger fish swimming around, too. Every once in a while, the shopkeeper would bribe me with a crayfish just to get me outta there. I actually got in trouble when one of my crayfish found its way to my aunt’s big toe and clamped on when she was over for a visit. That scolding didn’t keep me out of the bait shop, though.
    Oh, the Dog Pound. My little friends and I would spend time there looking at all the kitties, cats and dogs, dreaming of which one we could take home. The smell was horrific, but we held our noses and into the kennels we trudged. The worst memory I have is going up to the pound one day and as we walked around the back of the small one story building, we saw two men throwing deceased and obviously stiff animals into the back of a huge truck. The men saw us and shouted ‘GET OUTTA HERE, YOU KIDS!’ We couldn’t run fast enough and I will never ever forget the image.
    Wirth Lake! Paradise for the kids at the beach. It would be a few years before I could swim out to the big ‘dock’ with my older brother, Jeff. On our way to the lake, we’d take a short cut to the parkway and make sure we always climbed on the man made rock formation. At the lake one afternoon, everyone was ordered out of the water! I was with my mom and brother holding onto towels when I saw a man being escorted into the water. After a few minutes, one of the robed men held the other man’s head under water. Being so young, my initial thought was they were drowning this man! It was a horrible sight. My mother stopped me from screaming. I’m not positive, but I think the ‘Minister’ and the man being held under water were from Wirth Park Baptist Church, the church and Sunday school that my brother and I attended. (I wish I could attach a picture of us standing on the dirt ‘paved’ Sunnyridge Lane heading for church.) I caused a scene when Jeff left me at the Sunday school’s basement door and he went back up to the adjacent ‘big’ church. My fear was that at any time, I would be hauled off to the lake to be held under water in the name of Jesus.
    The Annex school and Golden Valley Elementary school. In the winter, we’d slide down the hill right behind the Annex during recess. Back into class with little tiny ice balls stuck in our pants cuffs or in the hems of our dresses. In the summer, all of us were out catching brown-juice spitting grasshoppers at the bottom of the sun drenched, straw-like grass hill. Anyone remember teachers Mrs. Goblisch or Mrs. Danielson? I wish I could remember the name of the principal who actually drove me home when I wasn’t feeling well.
    I’d swear that there was a Mrs. Dorothy Elmquist who worked in the kitchen at the elementary school… slender and maybe slightly ‘tallish’ woman to me at the time who had a wonderful smile… 🙂 Could she have had reddish brown hair?
    The Peterson family up on Meadow Lane (about 3 long blocks south of 55). Mr. Peterson must have been a paratrooper in the war. He had two boys, David and Steve (don’t remember if there was a daughter.) He would hook up a parachute on the big tree in his front yard and all the kids would have a chance to get strapped in and ‘ride the parachute’ about 12-15 feet high up on windy days. Exhilarating fun! I can’t remember if it was David or Steven who drowned over a July 4th holiday when someone threw a cherry bomb into the water where he was swimming. He was the first person I ever knew who was around my age that had died. It was hard to believe I’d never see him again.
    Mr. and Mrs. Larson and family (boys Johnny, Robert and ?) lived just around the bend of 400ish Sunnyridge Lane, directly across from the ‘swamp’ on one side and the Parkway on the other side. I think the street was Poplar. Anyway, we all called it the ‘horseshoe’. In the winter, Mr. Larson hooked up the biggest toboggan you could imagine to the back of his car. We all jumped on to be dragged through the snow around the 4 block long horseshoe! We were all safe and sound and it was the best fun ever!
    Mr. and Mrs. Tolg lived up a couple of blocks further south on Sunnyridge in a quaint old stucco house on the most gorgeous treed acreage you could ever imagine. Black Walnut trees, too. A very old couple who we were kind of scared of, until one day, old Mr. Tolg caught us playing in his forest like yard. He invited us inside for cookies that his wife had just made. He always welcomed us to play in their private forest. Now, all that land has been subdivided with very expensive homes built over the last 30-40 years. From my point of view, it’s devastatingly ugly now. Even a small park would have served the area better.
    I think it was the Nichols’ boy who my brother Jeff would meet up with at the railroad track to shoot rats with their bb guns. Not sure, but I think it was also Nichols’ german shepherd who didn’t take a liking to Jeff and attacked him, getting a good chomp right in the upper fleshy inner thigh. Sent Jeff to Memorial Hospital for several days. Of course, that didn’t stop Jeff from returning to the tracks to shoot rats… and one of the boys put the German Shepherd down.
    Last but not least, if anyone from this Golden Valley 1950’s era remembers the teenage boy who perched a ‘pet’ raccoon on his shoulder, please reply. I’ve got a great memory, but I am at a loss for his name.
    Laurie Farnam

    • Laurie Farnam…funny you should write at this time…we just returned to Little Rock, AR from Minnesota…and while we were there we visited another Laurie…Laurie Edling, who lives at 428 Sunnyridge Lane…but you knew that…I think she was Virgie Ann’s sister???…I may be a generation off here or there…but we had a good visit…she was my Mom’s hairdresser and friend for decades…going back to their days at Meadowbrook Elementary School…My Mom was the Dorothy Elmquist in your remembrance above…she was a cook at Meadowbrook and then at Golden Valley High School until it closed I think…we lived on the other side of 55…the North side on Sunnyridge Lane…used to be Archibald Ave…maybe before your time…we lived next to Jim and Mary Burton and my Grandparents George and Pearl Reggin…they lived just two houses down the street from 55…there were a couple of empty lots between them…I remember your Grandmother…and Mother…not many times but knew who she was…also Jeff…but again only in passing…so I remember a lot of what you talked about…the Feld’s boys and Tillie and Max…in fact one of Fred’s kids wrote me because I wrote about Feld’s store…all this, seems like yesterday…I tried to find pictures of Felds store but even the Golden Valley historical society don’t have them…so when we were up there a few days ago with traveled around the old neighborhood…what’s left that is…everything has changed…the railroad, Feld’s, the North side of 6th avenue (55)…all gone but the “dog pound”…old Glenwood Lake, now Wirth, the artificial falls, we called them, memories are good…thanks for yours…Jim Elmquist


Leave a Reply

Categories

