Posted by: Jim E | April 7, 2012

Spring And Easter…New Life…Bluebirds Fledged…Strawberries…It’s Friday…But Sunday’s A Comin’…

What a wonderful time of the year…Easter and Spring…here in the Mid-South it is more noticeable than it was in Minnesota…Easter is on billboards and outside of businesses on their signs…you will see “He is risen” on those signs…must be the Bible belt…but it does feel good to an old Christan like me…frankly, it should feel good to anyone, I guess…a return to old times…I remember many years ago…probably back in the 60’s…Judie and I were visiting her parents in Big Rapids, Michigan…we lived in Minnesota at the time…and we came for an Easter visit…and it kind of surprised me that the town “closed up shop” for a couple of hours in honor of Good Friday services at local churches…it was maybe from 1:00 to 3:00, something like that…so everyone could go to services, even employees…I don’t know if they do it anymore…the town is much larger and of course “things” have changed…but there was something “small townish” about that…I liked it…but probably something else that has disappeared from the scene…

Back to Spring…we went fishing out at Lake Maumelle, just west of Little Rock, the other day…I’ll add a picture of Jeremy fishing…and also some Tiger Swallowtail butterflies that Judie snapped a picture of…they were all over…I read they were probably “puddling”…where they take certain kinds of minerals from the ground…usually where it is wet or muddy…and on the way back we got a picture of Pinnacle Mountain off in the distance, toward where we live…notice the differing colors of green…and the mountains or hills rolling in the distance…it was beautiful…

Our azaleas in the back courtyard are waning…but out front of the house they are in their glory (I’ll add a picture of the color of our azaleas later in the post)…and all over the city azaleas are abundant…red, pink, purple, white, well, just every shade there is…there are a number of reds…some so red it doesn’t seem possible…and next to a brilliant white, it is just breathtaking…along one of the walking paths near our house there are rest areas…benches and around them are azaleas and redbuds…I’ll put a picture of the same rest area, one with the redbuds in bloom (they are over for the year) and then one with the azaleas (that are in bloom right now)…I noticed when I went by the other day…Mom’s and Dad’s were taking pictures of their kids on the bench…and you can see why…the picture didn’t turn out as clear as I would have liked but you can see what I mean…you will have to look a bit to see the black wrought iron bench but it is there…same place but the redbuds are now leafed out…and the azaleas are now blooming…you can see why parents use this as a picture taking spot…

And “new life”…well, our first batch of bluebirds fledged this week…Judie checks them everyday…and they were growing by leaps and bounds…so we knew it was soon…they must leave the nest early in the morning…over the years we have never seen that happen…but yesterday…they were gone…so we turned out (with a little help from Mom and Dad bluebird) three more bluebirds into natures care…we took a picture last year and it will give you a flavor of what they look like just before the fly away…New life…Spring…isn’t it wonderful…

And I “just know” you were wondering about strawberries…yes, our “strawberry lady” was in her spot…the earliest ever, March 26th…and we went out this week for our first strawberries of the season…very early, but so wonderful…juicy and sweet…now, get this…maybe you won’t believe it…but here goes…sitting down with a sandwich for lunch…and a bowlful of fresh Arkansas strawberries…I didn’t need any drink with the sandwich…the berries are so juicy…if thirsty or need to “wash it down”…just take a berry or two…just marvelous…hey, I think I will take break and have a few!!!…I’m back…soooo gooood…

The blackberry bushes are blooming too…all along the roads…a real sign of spring and reminder to me about strawberries being close to that time…that is one of the reasons we went out to check on “the strawberry lady”…I had some of the strawberries over ice cream last night…well, really, lots of strawberries and a little ice cream…strawberries on the bottom, then some ice cream, more strawberries, etc…they turn the ice cream strawberry red…so wonderful to eat…better by far than any strawberry ice cream…didn’t need any coloring to turn it strawberry color…Oh, heavens, let me put a picture of our blackberries bushes in bloom…they grow like weeds here…

All of this and Easter too…it seems to me that when I was young Easter was a bigger thing in our country…Oh, I think the candy, eggs, chocolate bunnies and all the trimmings are here in abundance…and I think that’s fine…in fact, Easter baskets have always been a tradition on our family…and traditions are wonderful…I hope you don’t miss that in your family…but I wonder sometimes if the real meaning of Easter is lost on many…I loved Christmas with all it family emphasis…and the birth of Jesus Christ is not missed…but somehow I wonder about Easter…it has always had a deep spiritual meaning for me…more so than even Christmas…we were at a doctors appointment with Jeremy a year or so ago…and I mentioned to the doctors that I wondered if the meaning of Easter is lost on many…it was a passing comment…but the one doctor was from India, she spoke up right away and said, “Oh, I think everyone knows what it means.”…the other doctor said something like he though she was Muslim, but she said, “No, I’m Hindu, but I know what Easter means.”…so maybe, it is not covered up with the Easter bunny and candy and all…maybe the message of Easter is still out there and maybe I still need to tell as many as I can, so the message will not be forgotten…

In the Bible, especially the Old Testament…there are a number of times when God asks His people to remember…and when their children ask why do we do this…(like celebrate Passover) they were to tell them what happened…and why they celebrated like they did…Easter is like that…the fact that God sent is only begotten Son to earth, to die on the cross for the sins of mankind…and that He was buried and rose from the dead on the third day…Good Friday to Easter Sunday…and everyone who believes in Him will have eternal life…now that is a story that needs to be told, it’s “The Good News”, it’s the Gospel…He is risen…no wonder it has had such great meaning for me all these years…when I was 9 years old I made that decision…Oh, there have been many other decisions that have built upon that first one…but none of them would have made any difference without the first…

I heard a message…well, part of a message years ago…it was preached first by a black preacher…and if you have never hear this or have never hear a good black preacher…this is a example to start with…its on video…so watch until the end…notice the rise in volume and emphasis as he goes along…I don’t know if this is the original or not…but its good…Happy Easter to you and your family…may God richly bless you and yours this Easter…He is risen…

Responses

  1. Thank you Jim, and many blessings to you and your family.

    • Thanks Ruth…I wish you and yours a wonderful Easter too…Jim E

  2. What a great season! Thanks for the photos Jim!


Leave a Reply

Categories

