Posted by: Jim E | February 4, 2012

Wow, I’m 70…Mac & Don’s…Banana Whipped Cream Cake…Cheerios…Dumbo…And The Everly Brothers…

Oh, yes…Oh, yes…I did turn 70 yesterday…it is a milestone, I suppose…but you know, I really don’t feel any different…still “upright and breathing”…and that’s what’s important…so I guess everything is, well, okay…but of course I did celebrate in style…this morning after delivering Jeremy to work at 7:00…coming back home and my child bride was up and at it…well, lets put it another way…she was awake and wandering around the kitchen looking for her coffee…(instead, she had hot chocolate)…but then I invited this beautiful apparition to a post birthday breakfast…now how is that for a “great guy” thing to do…so out we went after some heavy duty urging to a restaurant of two friends of mine…Mac and Don…golden arches, you know…after ordering “at the window” we took our breakfast fare to our “sweet spot” (I know this is too, too romantic for most of you)…not a far trip…the parking lot of Outback Steak House, overlooking the Goodwill store parking lot…what a perfect place…coffee and  oatmeal…a breakfast sandwich…and a cherry pie…yes, you are  right Judie is so lucky…but I digress…

I should tell you about my traditional birthday cake…I have had this off and on for about 60 years…I don’t know where the idea came from…I know there are recipes online but not quite this one…now, I should warn you…to like Banana Whipped Cream Cake, you must like bananas, whipped cream and cake…if you don’t pass that test, you fail in liking this special, unbelievable, heavenly cake…I will add pictures so you can see this cake, not from start to finish, but in the late stages of development…okay, here we go…first, you need a cake…preferably a yellow cake (a slight error here this year, it was a white cake…but forgiveness is part of a 70 year old’s heart)…two pans, for a layer cake…both layers you split or cut in half, horizontally…I think you understand, so now you have four, count them, four layers (ahh, this year, another change, we did only use two layers, not the four layer deal…life goes on)…second, you need bananas, fairly ripe…in other words, a perfect eating banana…they will need to be cut top to bottom so they can “lay” on the layers lengthwise…well, cut them any way you want really…third, you will need whipping cream, whipped, by the way, and now you are ready to make the cake…one layer of cake…frost with whipping cream, then bananas…they more whipping cream…next layer, whipping cream, bananas, whipping cream…and on top the same thing…yes, it does get rather tall…then into the refrigerator to cool until eaten…it is tops…the best…unbelievable…and it’s even good…try some…a couple of these pictures are from last year…so I cheated…but the one that is “cut” is this years…it was as good as it looks…

But you know reaching my 70th birthday isn’t such a big deal, I’m in good company…just last fall “Cheerios” turned 70…and you certainly know that Cheerios is doing rather well…I just had a bowl the other day…as good or better than when I was a kid…so I’m in good company…and “Dumbo” just turned 70 as well…it was released by Walt Disney in 1941, just before I was born…and although I don’t need any “Dumbo” jokes right about now…and I know you are thinking of some…so with “Dumbo” and “Cheerios” traveling along side…I feel I’m in pretty good company…and since at my age I’m not big on birthday presents, cards, etc…all the trappings of modern birthday culture…a “happy birthday” seems good enough…and heavens, I don’t “need” anything…and I’m no longer trying to impress anyone (except Judie and what with the trip to “Mac and Don’s” this morning, “I’m good for a few weeks”…don’tcha think???…huh???)…

I was reminded of one other thing this week…the “Everly Brothers”…Don and Phil…Don, the oldest, turned 75…February 1, 2012…and Phil turned 73 last month…the Everly’s during the 1950’s used close harmony in singing traditional country music…and brought it into mainstream popular music…there is almost an emotional pull of the brothers close harmony…I will add a video of them singing “Take a Message to Mary”/”Maybe Tomorrow”…they have influenced many pop singers, who have said how much they owed to the Everly’s…Paul McCartney, Simon and Garfunkel…and many others…the Everly’s broke up in 1973 and came back together ten years later…in a Royal Albert Hall appearance in London…this then is a video from that time…

So 70 is not so bad…just another year and happy to be here…I really do love life…no fanfare…no bells and whistles…nothing special…just walking with my Lord in this last chapter of life…for as long as it goes…and happy to do it…heavens, I just looked out the window…the sky is blue…the sun is out…it’s really a good day!!!…


Responses

  1. I hope that you had a wonderful birthday. We are celebrating Josie’s birthday today (a week early as this was when a friend could come over). I don’t think we have ever had a banana cake like that.

    ~Cheryl

    • Cheryl…hope Josie’s birthday is a good one…birthday’s are like Christmas…they are especially for kids…your kids are growing up for sure…as I always say, “With or without our permission.”…and you’re right, that cake is different…my Mom started it all…wjem you do it all…that is, split the layers and put bananas and whipping cream in between all of them…this cake is tall…more a tort, I think they call it…but the way we did it this year was good enough…and you know, it is even better the next day and the next…it “cures”…so I will finish it tomorrow…already had some today…you have a great weekend…Uncle Jim…

  2. Happy Birthday Jim!!! Yet another “white” treat! Maybe you should substitute lingonberries for the banannas!!! 🙂

    Patty

    • Patty…yes, you would catch that…kind of another bland treat…good but no color…it goes right along with lefse, mashed potatoes, Swedish sausage, oyster dressing and even lutefisk….and other Swedish treats…I really don’t know where my Mom came up with this treat…it could have been the Swedish side of the family…I never asked, just ate…but certainly the table would have a pale hew…thanks…Jim E

      • Jim – when I think of food and “bland” I usually think in terms of flavor rather than coloring. Since you’re using “fairly ripe” bananas, I’m guessing this treat is bursting with flavor! Moist, creamy, and sweet – how lovely! I may have to give this one a try – though I’m tempted to play with your recipe a bit; maybe add a bit of pineapple or sprinkle some coconut on a final whipped cream top? We’ll have to see what creative juices might flow once I get going. 🙂 thanks for the base idea!

      • Patty…I guess what I was referring to was the “color palate” rather than “taste”…but probably bad choice of words…but you are right, it is full of flavor, though white in color…and the pineapple and coconut…part of the same “color palate”…but yes, it would liven things up a bit…have fun with it…it is a great tasting cake concoction…we love it…thanks…Jim E

  3. Happy birthday, Jim! The Banana Whipped Cream Cake looks fantastic!

    • W.S….Yes, even better than it looks…thanks…Jim E

  4. You said you didn’t remember how you came across the “banana” cake. I do!! When you guys had your apartment in Mankato right after you were married, I was still at Northwestern and came down for a weekend. My “sleeping quarters” were just a curtain apart from your bed and on Sunday morning, you and Judie were “concocting” the recipe for your birthday cake. You were saying…”just do this and just do that” and finally came up with the banana cake. I guess that was the start of the “great, great banana birthday cake!” Happy Birthday!!!!!
    With love,
    BarbCullen

    • Barb…yes, I remember that time…but the cake precedes that time…my Mom made it for my birthday for years before we were married…so what I was doing, I think, was going over the recipe for Judie to “give it a try”…she had never made it before…but Judie has made it many times since…”Just like Mom used to make”…I think I will keep her around a while…thanks for the memory jog…Judie will like your comment too…Jim E

  5. Happy 70th Birthday,Judie!!!!! Young at heart is all that counts. The Lord has been good to you and Jim. Wishing you many , many more Birthdays in the future.
    Mrs. P.(Connie)

    • Connie…well, you’re close…Judie is still “stuck” at 69 until December of 2012…so I am the one who stumbled into the 70’s…thanks for the wishes…Jim E

  6. Happy Birthday!!!! I’ve got one coming up on Wednesday the big 52….
    Sounds like you had a good day enjoy your week 🙂

    Saun

    • Saun…happy birthday…hope you enjoy your day with your family…Jim E

  7. Happy Belated Birthday Jim! Sounds like you had a wonderful birthday. And that cake looks amazing! We have three birthdays coming up in our family – my brother-in-law is tomorrow, my oldest daughter turns 27 on Thursday and my Dad’s birthday is Sunday. I think I’ll definitely make this cake for the birthday party we’re having on Sunday to celebrate all of these birthdays. Looks quite tasty!
    Take care,
    Julie

    • Julie…Well, you have a happy birthday week ahead of you…I think you will enjoy the cake…so good…it is even good the next day…you have to put it in the refrigerator after you make it, so it is cold when served but that just adds to the flavor…have fun…thanks…Jim E


Leave a Reply

Categories

