Posted by: Jim E | January 5, 2012

Dandelions…Rice Pudding w/Lingonberries…Camping And The Arkansas River

What beautiful weather we have been having…it is January 5th…and the year…a whopping 2012…and its a new one at that…we had, and I hope you had, and wonderful Christmas…the weather was great…warm…maybe a little too warm…in the 40’s and 50’s…no snow, although there was some snow in the northern part of Arkansas…snow here in Little Rock is not unusual in the winter but when it comes it is a surprise…and it will not last over a day or so…last year we had a lot of snow for Little Rock…and I think it was true all over the country…I know Minnesota had one of the snowiest years ever…also the Rockies, well, everywhere…

So no snow over Christmas and New years…and today, we have about 66 degrees outside…the sun is shining and we are out without jackets…and short sleeves…lots of people out with shorts, especially if they are running…just  beautiful weather…the next thing we look for is spring…I know it is hard for me to understand…but we will have a month or so of colder weather…not enough to kill our pansies…they are thriving all over the city…but it will get cold enough to wear a long sleeved shirt…now, I don’t, but I do have all this extra  padding, so a vest and short sleeves is okay for me…and speaking of padding…

Well, I really mean pudding…I regress back to Christmas for a second…one of the comments I got over Christmas was from Patty…she talked about a rice pudding with lingonberries…I asked her for the recipe and she kindly gave it to me…and so, I made it…here is a picture of what I did…hopefully she approves…it was wonderful…all none fattening, of course…if whole milk and whipping cream are on your diet…I put lingonberries over the top…if you like rice pudding and lingonberries, this is a keeper…not a dessert really, although I made it mine a number of times over the course of meals…no leftovers of this I’ll tell you…now that still looks good to me…

Dandelions…it’s a funny thing about dandelions, as prolific as they were in the upper mid-west…they are almost non-existent here…I just don’t see them in the spring of the year…but on January 1, 2012, were were parked in front of the camera store Judie had to go to…and there in front of the car, in the landscaping…Dandelions, yup, in January…they were just all over the large area…it will always amaze me I guess…how things can grow here that I never saw happen in Minnesota…pansies, dandelions…just hard for me to wrap my brain around…

So we decided to take a little ride out to Maumelle Park…its just a short drive, maybe five miles…right along the Arkansas River…and yes there are people there camping…though not like it was over Christmas vacation…but still quite a few for this time of year…beautiful facilities and views from the campgrounds…we enjoy just going out with a cup of coffee and watching the world go by…one of the benefits of retirement, I guess…

I’m having trouble with my internet connection…so will close and try to get this to post…have a great week…

Responses

  1. Jim,
    I do approve! Your Lingonberries & Rice looks absolutely gorgeous!! Such a bright spot in what can be a rather bland looking Scandinavian meal! It really is a keeper for us – we treat it strictly as a dessert and is one of my brother-in-laws favorites. He says it isn’t Christmas without the Lingonberries & Rice…much like it isn’t Christmas for me without Lefse! 🙂

    Thanks for the picture of your masterpiece – I hope you enjoyed it as much as my family enjoyed this past holiday season! y

    Best to you and yours in this new year!

    Patt

    • Patty…we enjoyed every bit of the rice pudding…it was fun to make, though time consuming, Judie and I were in the kitchen anyway doing other things…so we stirred and stirred…it turned out great…just so creamy and great tasting…the lingonberries give it that zing, if you know what I mean…and we had it for leftovers too…and they were great too…and lefse…oyster dressing and all the bland-colored stuff that goes with a Scandinavian Christmas dinner…so lingonberriesa and cranberries are the color I guess…thanks again for the recipe, we will do it again…Jim E

    • Patty…we enjoyed every bit of the rice pudding…it was fun to make, though time consuming, Judie and I were in the kitchen anyway doing other things…so we stirred and stirred…it turned out great…just so creamy and great tasting…the lingonberries give it that zing, if you know what I mean…and we had it for leftovers too…and they were great too…and lefse…oyster dressing and all the bland-colored stuff that goes with a Scandinavian Christmas dinner…so lingonberriesa and cranberries are the color I guess…thanks again for the recipe, we will do it again…Jim E

  2. Jim, do you think Patty would mind if you posted the recipe? We love that kind of food. We also sometimes make boiled custard at Christmas and Easter.

    I still enjoy your post and find that your family and mine are still so similar in the experiences we have shared.

    I also saw that you had posted on Matt Green’s blog. This trek is interesting, but not quite as much as the last. I guess we’ll all be better educated about NYC when he finishes.

    Have a good week.

    Wilma

    • Wilma…I imagine you have seen Patty’s comments on the rice pudding recipe but if not…it’s in the comment section of “December 14th, ‘Ingebretsons…Swedish Sausage…and a Christmas Story’…and she gives her permission to share her recipe…I will tell you it is soooo gooood…like she says it takes some time but well worth it…it is not “real sweet”, (like say, pecan pie or pumpkin pie, etc.) but that is what rice pudding is like…but she serves it as a dessert…we just put on the table during the meal…the lingonberries just top off a great dessert/side dish special treat…so if you like rice pudding, you will love this…have a great week…Jim E

  3. Jim – the Lingonberries and Rice recipe isn’t one of those “handed down from generation to generation” deals and as such, I don’t have any special claim on it – please feel free to share as you wish!

    Patty

    • Patty…thanks for permission…the rice pudding/lingonberry dish is a keeper…I will do it again next year…and maybe before…you know, as I now remember making it Christmas Eve day…Judie and I were in the kitchen together making stuff for that night…and as I look back…I was seated on the kitchen stool stirring away…Judie hustling around fixing stuff for Christmas Eve at out house…that was a bright spot in our Christmas season…fun to do that together…you know, “what’dya think, ready yet?”…”is this thick enough?”…all of it fun and a wonderful memory…thanks again for all of us, from our home to the internet…Jim E

      • Jim,
        I’m so glad you and Judie were able to turn the making of the Lingonberries & Rice a “fun” thing instead of just a chore! As you describe it (I LOVE your story-telling; please don’t ever stop!) I can see the two of you in the kitchen working away and chatting… reminiscing about the “old days” and the anticipation of the new memories about to be made; perhaps laughing together as you try to figure out if it’s “ready yet”! 🙂 That’s EXACTLY my reaction the first time I made the family’s Christmas dessert!! I couldn’t believe how long it took to cook down and I was just so sure I was doing something wrong – that’s when I decided to pull up a stool and just mind the kettle and keep stirring! 🙂

        If you’re ever in need of an Ingebretson’s FedEx shipment and Jess isn’t responding, feel free to give me a holler – I’ll be happy to arrange it for you! I’m more than happy to help keep the “scandahovian” traditions alive whenever and however I can.

        Take care and give my best to Judie for me – Patty

      • Patty…We had fun making the pudding…talking all the time…and getting ready for Christmas Eve…and one of our sons came from Minnesota for Christmas…and he brought with him, guess what???…Swedish sausage from Ingebretson’s…and he talked about how busy they were just before Christmas…and then he found out they don’t take “cards”…so he had to borrow from his friend…no doubt Ingebretson’s is “old school”…but well worth the trouble…thanks for the offer though..we have one left to savor in the next few weeks…have a great New Year…Jim E

  4. Wilma, you can find the recipe and helpful tips in the comment section of Jim’s original post on Dec 14, 2011 entitled “Ingebretson’s…Swedish Sausage…And A Christmas Story…” – enjoy!

    Patty

  5. Wow, a place with few Dandelions- they’re all over the place here, Jim!

    • W.S…we just don’t have many here…too rocky I guess…but for a Minnesotan, having anything “green” in January is always a surprise…Jim E


Leave a Reply

Categories

