Posted by: Jim E | November 8, 2011

Well So It Is…It’s Fall…And What Is That Flower???…Flowers And Tornadoes In November…

All of the sudden it’s fall…the leaves are falling off the trees…but not all of them…we may be at our peak of color…but lots of days left of leaves turning and falling…in fact leaves will be falling off trees right into the new year around here…its weird for sure…and we still have bushes flowering…I will add a picture or so of that…and being from Minnesota (and it seems unbelievable)…but they/we are just planting pansies…pansies, mind you…in November…but they last through the whole winter here…they plant them by the thousands all over the place…Home Depot, garden centers and grocery stores have huge outdoor racks of them…all kinds of colors…and they are planting them on the “end caps” of parkways and entrances to apartments, businesses…just all over…and when we get snow or it gets cold, meaning, in the 20’s and 30’s(and that doesn’t happen very often)…they just hunker down for the night, or couple of days and perk right back up, flowering like crazy…I know, I still can’t believe it, but it is true…today it is in the high 70’s…threat of thunder storms and possible tornadoes…and humid, we have the A/C on…amazing…

I am going to add some pictures to this post that I think you will enjoy…and there will be more coming as the leaves change…but these are right around our house…we are between mountains, maybe 600 feet to 1,000 feet high and some in between…you will see the white flowering bushes…I don’t know what they are…(the flowers are shaped like trumpets)…things flower here in every month of the year…spring and summer are the best…but all year round it happens…

You will notice our small courtyard…this time of year it is beautiful…our Azaleas are still blooming…we are into our 3rd or 4th week of blooms…and more are coming…last year we were putting up Christmas lights on the bushes and they still had blooms on them…so I expect they will still be having flowers for the next couple of weeks…these Azaleas bloom 3 times a year…this is their fall bloom…so beautiful…Judie will be planting her pansies she just bought, sometime this week…still hard for us to get used to…in Minnesota we don’t expect thunder storms, tornadoes and flowers, but snow, this time of year…but we are enjoying the wonder of it all…have a great week…enjoy where you are…there is God’s “wonder” all around us…I don’t want to get so busy that I miss any of it…

Responses

  1. Uncle Jim,
    I had to chuckle when I read this because our fall peak was 3-4 weeks ago and it is currently snowing outside…the beginning of 4-6 inches for today. Enjoy your Fall!
    Chris

    • Chris…I know how you feel…I live here and I don’t believe it…I mean someone from Minnesota…who is used to “putting away” all outdoor stuff the first of September…cleaning up leaves by the first of October…and getting ready for the first snowfall about the same time…I just have to shake my head in disbelief to all this…this morning it is “clear as a bell” (as my Mom used to say)…sky is as blue as it gets here in Arkansas…not as blue as in Northern Wisconsin, but blue none the less…and what people here say is “cold”…its 50 degrees…and will go into the 60’s today…natives will be wearing all their winter finery…I will be in shorts and t shirt…heavens, this is high summer in Minnesota/Wisconsin!!!…so, this is a cultural adjustment for us, that’s for sure…

      We think of you often…in fact Judie saw a picture of your family on Facebook…I think from your Aunt in Michigan or something…family looks good…certainly the girls have grown since we where there a few summers ago…enjoy the snow…I did for so many years…and snow down here is loved for the two or three days a year we get it…but if they had to have it for months…the suicide rate would definitely go up…I miss the weather in Minnesota at times…especially when I recall how I loved to “brag” about the cold and snow…and how “we” could take “it”…I use to always say, “Keeps the rif-raff” out”…all those people moved to Arkansas!!!…I guess…

      Have a great rest of the week…and polish up that shovel…tune up that snowblower!!!…(isn’t that something, “snowblower” is not a word on spell check, not from “up North”, I guess)…Jim E

  2. Nice photos of scenic trees! Looks like the peak of your autumn foliage hit a couple of weeks after our peak here in Ohio, though each year can be different. And it tends to end quick as well!

    • Well, it’s all over now…I mean the leaves and vibrant color…most of the leaves have fallen…though leaves fall here throughout the winter months…and finally “pushed off” by the new leaves of spring…what a deal!!!…people are bagging leaves for months…though most of it will be done in a few weeks…but pansies and winter cabbage (colorful cabbage) and other winter plants are in the ground and ready to show off all winter long…until spring…flowering all along…amazing stuff…reading your posts this morning…great stuff…Jim E


Leave a Reply

Categories

