Posted by: Jim E | August 11, 2011

Hummingbirds…Sweet Syrup…Weather…And Stuff…

What a difference a day makes…24 little hours…or so the song goes (and I can’t resist inserting the iconic song by Dinah Washington, it is wonderful)…

 and so goes the weather here in Arkansas…and everywhere else for that matter…we have been through what seems months of over 100 degree weather…and it has been close to that…(although I have been accused of exaggerating a thousand times)…I do know it has been weeks of HOT!!!…115 degrees of temp on one of those days and many more over 105…it has been eyeopening…and we did not set any records to speak of…not daily highs, or for a season, or anything…so what is really disturbing…is this normal???…it is, and I DON’T LIKE IT…so yesterday it was in the 90’s…a cooling trend…on with the jackets and long pants…and today???…well, today it is only suppose to be a high of 90…that will be wonderful…and rain, which should cool it down significantly…I love this…we haven’t had rain in days…it is dry…so we need the rain…

You may say, “You live there why are you complaining???”…well, my view of that is this…it is because I live here that I “can” complain…and so I guess, I am going to complain…it makes it easier to put up with the heat…but today, nirvana…okay, heaven…it is much cooler…now, being from Minnesota…if it were this hot and humid (I did not mention dewpoints is my previous rant so I will now)…the humidity in Arkansas is unbelievable…always above 70 dewpoint in the summer…which is tropical (I say unbearable)…which means it is like a blast furnace as you walk out the door…but I digress, in Minnesota people would go crazy with this humidity…they think humid is when the dewpoint is above 60…and I remember that…I was with the majority…and still am…this humidity and heat are not a selling point of living in Arkansas…the fall, the spring and the winter are selling points…but like Minnesota has to put up winter to have the summers they do…so in Arkansas, you have to put up with summer to get the fall, winter and spring…in Minnesota, it’s November, December, January, February, March and on and on with winter and it pre and post forms…in Arkansas it is June, July, August, September…if you can stand that test, the rest is “gravy”…  

Here in the South, it is sweet tea…it is big stuff here…I have never got into it…but sweet tea is everywhere…but one thing I am into…”sweet syrup”…sweet syrup for hummingbirds…somehow I am in charge of “hummingbird juice”…that is the sweet syrup I am talking about…4 to 1…4 parts water to 1 part sugar…I boil the water to melt the sugar…”they” say you don’t have to boil the water…but I do it…somehow I think it makes the sugar part of the water and then it will not “settle” to the bottom…probably wrong, but I have been wrong before and about a lot more important things…so, I boil…then I clean and fill the feeders…we have two…we could have more…but I don’t want to boil more…so 4 cups of “sweet syrup” is just enough to fill our feeders…’nuff said…

It seems this time of year the hummingbirds are moving south or maybe we have an influx of “new” birds…but I believe from my reading that some hummingbirds start moving southward about this time, for their long trip across the Gulf of Mexico to South America…and our feeders get overloaded…a couple of years ago we had 20 or 30 birds daily, for a week or so, fighting for a feeding spot, in our small courtyard…pictures are proof, first one, then two, then three, and on and on…they are all over…and this week it started again…we had 10 or 15 hummingbirds around our feeders…so maybe it is starting again…they surrounded me as I was returning the feeders there appropriate spots…(hummingbirds are not known for their patience…nor tolerance of others…they chase each other away and around the feeders…kinda like me at a potluck)…(I think everyone knows what a potluck is…potluck supper, you know, everyone brings their best “dish” to pass, Oh well)…

So a little break in the weather…a little “Sweet Syrup”…and lots of hummingbirds…what more can you ask on a mid-August Wednesday…hope you came along for the trip…

Responses

  1. That’s a lot of hummingbirds! They’re getting fueled up for their big trip south, glad to see they enjoy your feeders. The picture of the deer in the Minnesota snow was a relief from the heat!

    • This morning it is making more “Sweet Syrup”…they were out there early and the feeders are almost empty…so I’m at it again today…they an drain them quickly…I don’t know if this is how many we are going to get this year or are more coming…a couple of years ago I was filling them everyday…and yes the deer picture does help…I keep thinking if wolves were in the area, those deer would be in trouble…wolves paws support better than deer hooves…don’t know if they would help in this deep of snow or not…


Leave a Reply

Categories

