Posted by: Jim E | July 8, 2011

Roll Out Those Lazy, Hazy, Crazy Days Of Summer…Why, They’re Here Now…

It has been a busy Independence Day holiday…I don’t know where the days went…we had a hail storm the last of April and are now finally getting some closure on fixing the damage…no, no…I don’t mean it is fixed and over…I mean we finally got an estimate and some positive stuff from the insurance company…fixed???…maybe in September…but it’s okay, the roof still keeps out the rain (of course we haven’t had any rain to speak of)…and then my yearly spate of doctor appointments…checkups to make sure I am “upright and breathing” like I think I am…and if they tell me I am, then I can stop checking the obituaries to see if my name is there or not…at least for a while…

So I have been busy…its been a while since I have posted anything…so here goes…(for the “good of the order” let me explain dewpoint from MY point of view…over 70 degrees is tropical, evaporation of perspiration doesn’t happen, it just runs off your body; 60 degrees, uncomfortable; 50 degrees, comfortable; 40 degrees, the perspiration evaporates off your body so fast it makes you feel cold)…

We haven’t had much rain in the past few weeks, as I mentioned…we need some…it’s been in the middle to the high 90’s for the last month or so…wait a minute…that’s all of June and now into July…and over 90 everyday…well, my goodness, I guess by all indications, summer is here…and in Arkansas that means HOT and again HOT…we might as well put another HOT in there for good measure…because it has been HOT, for sure…we have been living in Arkansas long enough (4 years) that this seems normal…I don’t mean we are comfortable or used to it because there is no way to change HOT to some cooler thing…but not only is it hot…it is also HUMID…I could repeat humid in caps again and again but I think I used up your tolerance for that literary device already, aren’t you glad???…

So, hot it has been, and hot it is, and hot it will remain, until maybe October…it may drop into the 80’s…and by the end of October, into the 70’s…it seems so strange to a transplanted Minnesotan for summer to be that hot and humid…in Minnesota we have some 90 degree days and some humidity…Minnesota can have as few 90 degree days as none, to maybe 10 or so on a big year and a few days with over 70 degree dewpoint…but not like here…someone I met in the store and struck up a conversation about Minnesota…(he had been to Rochester, MN for a meeting…and the people there were complaining about how hot and humid it was)…he laughed and said that they didn’t know how lucky they were…and he was right…I remember being uncomfortable in Minnesota with hot days and high dewpoints…but our dewpoints have been over 70 for a long time..and last night at 10:00 it was 76 degrees dewpoint…you have to be in equatorial Africa or South America to match that…now, that is humid, my friends…how people work outside in this is beyond me…younger than me for sure…when you open the door and walk outside it hits you like a sack of hot, wet sand…it is amazing…lets put it this way…I don’t like it…but we will, like all others around here, wait until October…

I am not kidding you, come October…if the dewpoint gets down into the 50’s and the air temperature is still in the 80’s…out come the jackets and long pants…”hoodies” and scarfs…hats and gloves…Minnesota mornings during the summer when it is in the 50’s and the dewpoint is low…and people there love it…down here, that is long john weather, my friend…it takes some getting used to…just the other day…dewpoint in the 70’s, air temp in the 90’s, my lovely child-bride Judie, turned to me and said, “It is really nice outside.”…I, sitting in the house, (glad I was sitting) with the A/C set cold enough to “hang beef”…almost swallowed my tongue…as I said, “Nice, did you say?”…and said no more…as I thought to myself, this woman whom I love with all my heart, these almost 50 years…has lost her faculties of discernment…or else she has become a true Arkansan…

So where does this leave us???…(I mean it was 107 yesterday just to the west of us)…so it leaves us hot and humid…me, living in a deep freeze (and loving it by the way)…and Judie basking in the 98 degree heat today…the sun blasting down…with the dewpoint at 74 degrees (74 dewpoint, you say?…unbelievable)…and she just came from the pool…and don’t say, “Oh that’s why she feels cool with this heat and humidity.”…don’t say that please, because the water in that pool is the temperature and consistency of “spit”…so let us just say “The Minnesota” in some of us is more difficult to lose than it is for others…and leave it at that…

So summer is here in all its glory…and it truly is the lazy, hazy and crazy days of summer…and to top it off I think we should listen to Nat King Cole singing that old 1950’s hit song…that no doubt you will hear sometime this summer…it might as well be here…

Leave a Reply

Categories

