Posted by: Jim E | June 15, 2011

Songs…Everytime We Say Goodbye…A Nightingale Sang In Berkeley Square…

Those two songs…well, they came together for me this week…Oh, really it has been a couple of weeks…I have just been trying to find the right videos to make this work…was I successful???…no, it just didn’t work out…I am not “computer geeky” enough to find the video and then to put it on my post…but here goes…I will try to make something of it…hang on…

A couple of weeks ago I heard on the radio the song, “A Nightingale Sang in Berkeley Square”…it was wonderful and so I went looking for it on YouTube…it was by Mel Torme…and though I have loved that song all my life and have hear many people sing it…this one is the best…at least for me…let me put the video in here, so you can hear and see…and a picture of Berkeley Square…Torme was about 70 when he sang this song…unbelievable…what voice control and what ability…and John Colianni on the piano, just great…see if you agree…more on the song later…hang on…this is wonderful to see and listen to…


But my thoughts at the time were not that easy…it hit me that the song was in a movie I saw called, “Every time we say goodbye”…with a young Tom Hanks playing a WWII American pilot who was flying for the British, before America got into the war…so this was about 1940…he was recovering from a leg wound in Jerusalem…there he met a young woman…I will stop there…and skip to this:…during the movie the song “A Nightingale sang in Berkeley Square” was sung…it was a beautiful setting…It was in Jerusalem on an outside dance floor…but lets just say it is a back and forth love story…on then off, then on again…a Jewish girl of Spanish descent and an American pilot…you get the idea…

Now came the twist…where did the title of the movie come from…”Every time we say goodbye”…there is a song by that name…written by Cole Porter in the 1940’s…and deals with the same idea of young love and what happens when they are together and then have to part…I never did find out if that is where the title of the movie came from…see what I mean, this just didn’t work like I wanted…but regardless, I press on…that song was in Walt Disney’s, “Parent Trap”…following scene is from that movie…

Berkeley Square…where is it???…this song was written before WWII, published in 1940…but not an immediate success…but became a standard later…Berkeley Square is in London, a tree-filled square in Mayfair (that’s in the song) an upscale part of London (even today)…the Ritz Hotel (it’s in the song) is there as well as many beautiful homes and businesses…it is pronounced correctly in the song, “Bar-klee”…it was written about the magic there is between two lovers who meet in the park…the song hints that there are no “Nightingales” in the park…but is sure they heard them…so birds or no birds singing…it is a wonderful song that Mel Torme is singing…Oh, go ahead and play it again…it’s free…(and another picture of Berkeley Square) “When you turned and smiled at me, a nightingale sang in Berkeley Square”, Oh, I’m sure of it…

And though this didn’t come together as I would have liked…as Pooh Bear would say, “Oh, Bother”…I enjoyed it anyway…more honey anyone???…

Responses

  1. One of my favorites. A Nightengale Sang in Berkeley Square. Just downloaded Bobby Darin’s Already had Vera Lynn. It’s a great song & love the pictures on your blog.

    • Thanks…it is a great song…reminds me of a simpler time…thanks again…


Leave a Reply

Categories

