Posted by: Jim E | June 11, 2011

Clouds…Chariots…Old Testament…New Testament…My Friend And Me…

I don’t really know how many of you have noticed the picture on the header of this post…well, it has been there for the last few posts…and as you may or may have not noticed these pictures do not stay with this or other posts (if I change it later)…the “header” changes for all of the past posts as well as this one and any in the future…and when I change the “header” picture, it will change again…(I don’t know if you got that or not…it doesn’t matter to what I am going to say…the picture looks like this…(for those who read this at some later date)…

I got this picture from a blog 5 years ago or so…it struck me as beautiful then as now…at that time, I sent it out with a small comment to go with it…and it kinda “grew” from there…here’s what I said, with some edits…

“How about this picture from Campo, California…this from the website Mullings.com…he said, ‘If you believe, as I do, that God is in the clouds, then on this morning he was in these clouds.’…now theologically, he may or may not be correct..but regardless, it does give you pause to see what God has made…And sometimes it is just good to lift up your eyes from the “Daily Slog”…and see the beauty all around us”…

Look again at the picture, wonderful isn’t it???…well, after I sent it out…a reply came from a life-long friend of mine…he teaches at a seminary out east…and sorta corrected, well, gently corrected, “Your Roving Reporter” as to what was what…as to my comment…”now theologically, he may or may not be correct” and he gave me some great comments…I share them with you now…they will give you some of his thoughts and they are really good…(with some edits)…

“I remember on my first trip to Israel during a boat ride across the Sea of Galilee sitting on the top deck, sort of resting mind and body and not listening to the guide talk, watching a large cloud sort of open up into a “U” shape…and thinking Christ could come back right through that opening! Clouds like rainbows are good God-designed reminders if we can (really) see. By the way Old Testament imagery is God riding the clouds as a chariot – a royal symbol and clouds are necessary to theophanies to shield man from God’s holiness.”…

And after my return comments and thanking him for the reply…he returned with this: (he is, if nothing else…always the teacher)…

“Today in Daniel class we covered some material that coincides with the “cloud” comments. Nothing necessarily new, just added thoughts.”

“Son of Man receives an everlasting kingdom Daniel 7:13-14…Identification v. 13 ‘with the clouds of heaven one like the Son of man was coming’

Clouds of heaven…they have a special significance in the ministry of Christ.

Matthew 24:39 “And then the sign of the Son of Man will appear in the sky, and then all the tribes of the earth will mourn, and they will see the Son of Man coming on the clouds of the sky with power and great glory.”…Matthew 26:64 “Jesus said to him, “You have said it yourself, nevertheless I tell you, hereafter you shall see the Son of Man sitting at the right hand of Power, and coming on the clouds of heaven.”

Acts 1:9-11 “9 And after He had said these things, He was lifted up while they were looking on, and a cloud received Him out of their sight. 10 And as they were gazing intently into the sky while He was departing, behold, two men in white clothing stood beside them; 11 and they also said, “Men of Galilee, why do you stand looking into the sky? This Jesus, who has been taken up from you into heaven, will come in just the same way as you have watched Him go into heaven.”…

Revelation 1:7 “Behold, He is coming with the clouds, and every eye will see Him, even those who pierced Him, and all the tribes of the earth will mourn over Him. Even so. Amen.”

“The cloud rider is also a well-established biblical image by the time of Daniel’s vision. God rode the clouds into battle, according to passages like Psalm 18:11-12, 68:4, 104:3; Jeremiah 4:13 and Nahum 1:3. The clouds are the battle chariot of God, which makes it obvious that the one like the son of man’ is a divine figure.”

“Daniel 7:13 provides a bridge to the New Testament use of the motif of the Divine War chariot, since it is alluded to in the New Testament with great frequency. The description of Jesus Christ’s return as one taking place on, in, or in accompaniment with…(clouds)…the cloud is found in the Gospels, Paul’s Thessalonian correspondence, and the book of Revelation.”

Well, did you get all that…I told you he was a teacher…and it was good…I enjoyed going over that again…when I put that picture of the clouds on the header a week ago or so…I remembered this correspondence with my friend out east…and thought you might like it too…always good to have our interest in a picture, backed up by something more than, “Boy, that is beautiful.”…

I have been looking for this email for a couple of weeks now…and found it this morning…and right now…I look outside my window…the sky is filled with billowing clouds…I hear some thunder…threatening weather…but beautiful…I send a picture…dark clouds, outlined with a silver lining…powerful things happening up there…and as always I stand amazed by the power of God in nature…and now you and I can look at clouds with new appreciation and wonder…with nature and a little theology mixed in…thanks Chuck…

Responses

  1. That is one magnificent cloud. To me, clouds have a very calming influence. They are so large and majestic that they put other things in their proper perspective.


Leave a Reply

Categories

