Posted by: Jim E | April 27, 2011

Oh My…Fair Weather Clouds, Blue Skies, Light Breeze…And Spring…

Oh my…yes finally we have a semi-beautiful day…Okay, what do I mean by “semi-beautiful”???…Judie and I were driving home from some errands and the sky finally broke open with sun and those big beautiful white cumulus clouds…with the accompanying blue sky in between (kinda like this picture)…those are “fair weather” clouds…even though we have learned from the past…(thanks to Mrs. Reid)…that for the weather to be called “fair”…there can be no clouds in the sky to speak of…in other words, blue sky…you know, “blue skies smiling at me, nothing but blue skies do I see”…so the song goes…but even though Mrs. Reid was right and a wonderful teacher…I would call these fair weather clouds…because they replace the terrible weather we have been having in Arkansas the last number of days…

In the last week we have had tornadoes and thunderstorms…and lots of rain…up to 12 or 15 inches of rain in some parts of the state…and the death toll from tornadoes has, as usual, been surpassed by the deaths from floods…of the 11 deaths two days ago, less than half were from tornadoes…the rest from flash flooding where cars were swept off roads, etc…it has been something…we had a storm the other night that was the worst I have ever been in…the winds were tremendous…over 50 mph I’m sure…and hail…I will add a couple of pictures of it coming off our roof and into the small courtyard in the back yard…that is hail coming off the roof…like someone was dumping a truck load of crushed ice on the roof and it coming down in the back yard…I’ve never seen something like that before…and the noise was tremendous…it was up to 72 yesterday and the hail was still there 24 hours after…it took the leaves off trees and plants, etc…quite a night…

But today takes the edge off that night…what a day…blue skies and puffy clouds…so nice…there is a nice breeze…I told Judie, “When we get home we are opening up the house and let some of this wonderful cool, refreshing air in the house.”…and that is just what I did…opened up the windows and doors…put the coffee pot on…got out what was left of Judie’s wonderful blackberry cobbler…put a scoop of Schwann’s vanilla ice cream on it…went out on the porch off the courtyard…and sat down and enjoyed this wonderful weather…it may only last a day…or half a day in this case…but to enjoy what we have of it…

The other day I put out our hummingbird feeders…and low and behold in a few hours…”here they come” to the feeders…so I watched them today while I enjoyed my coffee and cobbler…and the wasps were also trying to get something out of the feeders…the house finches were in and out at the sunflower seed feeder…a cardinal or two…and I kept an eye on the bluebird house…they have been to visit here and there, but haven’t moved in yet…but they will…wish you could be here to see this almost sublime scene…quiet with only the birds, the wind…the clouds, the blue sky and me…Oh ya, forgot to tell you, Judie took off to a class she is taking…and missed all the wonderful and beautiful weather…but I will share the beauty of this day with her later…so enjoy where you are, as you can…spring and all it’s beauty is here for us to enjoy…and I’m doing it!!!…

Leave a Reply

Categories

