Posted by: Jim E | April 8, 2011

Spring Is Sprung…All Over…Everywhere We Go…

“Spring is sprung, Grass is ‘ris…Wonder where the flowers is?”…just something I learned from my Mom years ago…(it’s free, just enjoy it!!!)…

Since we moved to Arkansas, we have learned many things…and there is more to learn I’m sure…but one thing we have learned is to love Spring and Fall…that’s because they are so long…we have been experiencing a long spring…we have something blooming just about every month of the year…January and February may not have much (some though, there are always pansies and other “winter” flowers)…but the rest of the months it is mind-boggling…things pop out everywhere…we are “over” crocus (I think I missed them sometime in January or February), daffodils, tulips, hyacinth and trees like cherry, bradford pear, redbud…the last of these early blooms are past…but dogwoods (I added a picture here), iris, and many, many more are in full bloom or are getting there…azaleas are out in abundance…even in our courtyard and front yard…pink (a number of shades), red (a number of shades) and white…bushes of white, red, yellow, purple…ground cover of all colors…it is breath-taking…and we enjoy every day when we go out…

Our mountains that surround us and what much of the city is built on and around, are now showing their color…what I call southern pine (there is a correct name for them, but) are all over the Little Rock area and this time of year, during April…there is pollen everywhere…yellow pollen that covers everything…in your house, the car…just everything…car washes have signs out by the curb: “Pollen Removal Here”…I can’t figure it out but when it rains…you would think it would wash the pollen out of the air…no luck, just after it rains, there it is…you can’t really “see” it…but it is thick and it is “everywhere”…it floats down from those tall pine trees in the mountains…

But in between all those pine trees are many deciduous trees (trees that lose their leaves in the fall)…these trees are now getting green…and if you follow the leafing out of trees in the spring…different trees are different shade of green…and when you see them ascending “up” a mountain it is much easier to see all the color…the palette of green that rises up the mountains…it is wonderful…I will add some pictures of that phenomenon…

I almost hate to say this to people who are not having spring yet…but Oh, I think next week we will have our first crop of Arkansas strawberries…if you like the strawberries in “your neck of the woods”…then you know what Arkansas’ taste like…they are soooo good…and their natural juice, when you cut them up or put them on ice cream, is blood red…they are delicious…no need to have sugar…maybe a swirl of honey…but they are naturally sweet…I felt that way about Minnesota strawberries…and Michigan strawberries too…they all have that same wonderful taste and juice…I would imagine if you come from Ohio, or Iowa, or any other state…it would be the same for you…I am looking forward to them…in fact…we have not been to “our strawberry” stand so far…they may be there already…I am going out today and see…will report when we find them…isn’t spring wonderful!!!…

So we are enjoying the Spring here in Arkansas…I will send out some more pictures as I have time to send them…it is a beautiful thing to see new birth…new leaves, flowers…

I love color…I think I wrote before…did you know that there is no real “reason” to have color…Oh, colors attract birds and insects and us too…and that may have been enough…but there is no reason to have color…and no “reason” why we have color receptors in our eyes and brains to keep us alive…and do what we do…but somehow God created this marvelous creation with color…and us, with the ability to see and then to appreciate and love the color…maybe those strawberries would taste just as good without color…but how would I see the red color of the strawberries bleed into that vanilla ice cream…somehow I think He knew just what we needed to enjoy our lives and live them with a respect and appreciation of what He created…

Responses

  1. Pretty pics.

  2. Here in Ohio we don’t see fresh strawberries until the first week in June. I think I need to move to Arkansas…..

  3. Our strawberry plants are just coming up and starting to leaf out. Our apricot tree is in bloom, with the nectarine tree not far behind it. Dad and I just picked asparagus this afternoon.

    ~Cheryl

    • Cheryl…I went out, yesterday, to see if our “peripatetic strawberry stand” was there yet…no luck…although they don’t always come on a Saturday…so we will try next week…good to see your fruit trees coming along…I know, I am amazed here in Arkansas that we will have our first peaches I think in May…unbelievable…and with different varieties they last for a couple of months or so…

      Asparagus…Oh my…how wonderful…a cool weather plant for sure and early…I get into my “Way Back Machine” again…and remember I was speaking in a church in Southern Minnesota for a friend, Oh, over 20 years ago…and they had a potluck dinner…you know, everyone brings their best…a casserole (in Minnesota it’s called, “hotdish”)…and every other thing…but someone brought fresh asparagus…I went back and back…and made it my dessert…it is so good…so enjoy some for me…


Leave a Reply

Categories

