Posted by: Jim E | February 9, 2011

Hold On Here…More Snow?…In Arkansas?…

I know, I know…I semi-promised that I would not even speak of winter again…in any of my posts…but alas and alax, I lied…we had a significant snow here last week…now, significant here in the mid-south means any snow that covers the road…that may mean 1 inch or more…and if it is cold enough not to melt…so what we had last week was significant for about 6 hours…because the 2 or 3 inches that fell during the night melted off the roads by mid-morning…and the sun came out to dry out the roads…the snow remained on the ground for about half the day…and the city closed down for that “significant” snow…schools closed the night before and before a flake fell…therefore hundreds of kids and their parents “hit” the slopes (slopes, i.e. any land-form that has an incline that water would notice, and run “down” that incline)…with every known contraption that would slide down the hill…but by about 5:00, all the snow was gone…I will send a picture of the snow we had…it was taken about 12:00, so some of the snow was still on the ground and people were still sliding down the hills…but notice that the roads are clear and dry…

But today’s storm has been well covered for the last few days…and the warning for the last two days…you would think the storm of the century was happening…now I must admit, in Little Rock they are not prepared for a big snow…and most of the snow we get here goes quickly…so I understand…but in Minnesota, where of course they are prepared for this…most snowfalls like this, would be considered nuisance snowfalls…it might snarl traffic but on the whole, life goes on…the roads would be plowed and salted…school would not close and we would go out for coffee…here, coffee shops close…and most everything else…they tell people to stay home…so here we are…I am writing about all the snow…and I must admit as I look out “My Window”…there is a lot of snow coming down…(here is a picture, compare the two…you can’t see the mountains and its hard to see the end of the street)…about 4 inches so far…and it is suppose to keep snowing all day…the totals are expected to be at least 6-8 inches…but if this keeps up, it will be a foot…some places in northwest Arkansas have already received over 12 inches…as I look now, it seems to be snowing harder than when we took the picture…it is beautiful…and kids are out in this I am sure…

The one thing about Little Rock…there is no shortage of slopes…in fact there are very few places where you could put a level down and see the bubble!!!…it’s amazing…driveways at a 40 degree angle is not out of the question…very few flat spots in Little Rock…so slip-sliding around is not only possible…it’s probable…

So not much is moving around here…but the mail must go through…proof???…here is our proof-positive…a picture…and Jeremy out on the road…it is snowing for sure…still not much by Minnesota standards but for here it is monumental…everything is closed…but something in me…it is the Minnesota spirit I guess…that says, “Let’s live a little. Let’s go out and try the roads and see what it is like. See if they are even trying to clear the roads. Just the challenge of it.”…so I think I will…the “Ol’ Scandinavian” in me…a little Jack London and his great short story, “To Build a Fire”…and “The Cremation Of Sam McGee” by Robert W. Service and all the rest…here’s Johnny Cash reading “The Cremation of Sam McGee”

So I am ready to go out and try my luck…I have 4 wheel drive…and it is a challenge to see how we get about with it, in these snowy times…no one else on the road…it will be fun…and see how the mountains are to get up and down…slip slidin’ away…last night without one snowflake yet on the ground and they reported on the news that everyone is sold out of sleds and sliding contraptions…so there may be people out trying their luck…with this kind of snowfall…tomorrow doesn’t look good for getting back to normal…it looks like the weekend is the best chance…it will in the high 60’s and the snow will take its “lumps” in the next few days…tomorrow only 31 or so…then Friday in the 40’s…then the 50’s and 60’s…it’s a far different scenario in Minnesota…windchill at -25…temps in the single digits…so the snow is going no where fast there…at least for a while…this is unusual weather there too…

We will survive…but the “bloom is off the rose”, so to speak, even in Little Rock, concerning more snow…I got this graphic yesterday that shows “Southerners’ Enjoyment of Snow Over Time”…I think all of us no matter where we live may feel the same way…Enjoy what’s left of winter…



Responses

  1. I had never heard of The Cremation of Sam McGee until we started schooling the kids at home. In the 8th grade literature they have to read that. Grandpa Graubner was up here the first time and he was looking through the literature book and read it to the kids.

    Enjoy your snow. We have had nice sunny weather this week.

    ~Cheryl

    • Cheryl…I asked some of our grandkids if they had to read “The Cremation of Sam McGee”…and they told me they had never heard of it…so maybe Robert W. Service was read and taught in textbooks more in my generation, I know I taught it in the 60’s…but lots of his work is as good as that poem…and “To Build a Fire” by Jack London was also in English textbooks 40-50 years ago…a great short story that grips most people who read it…and people who live in the “cold zone” of this country can really relate…but it is a good story anyway…and Robert Service was favorite of Jim Elliot…thanks…

      Jim E


Leave a Reply

Categories

