Posted by: Jim E | January 24, 2011

J.O.Y. And God’s Elevator…I Learned It Young…And It Works…

A couple of days ago, I was perusing the usual blogs I look at most everyday…I like them all, or I wouldn’t be going there everyday…it is part of my daily “trap-line”…and if you know anything about trap-lines, indeed you check them often…there aren’t many trappers left around today…but there are some…it is a hard life but can be financially rewarding, I guess…anyway, I, along with many others these days, run a trap-line of a sort…I follow certain sites to see what they are thinking, saying and doing…it also can be rewarding…not financially but for my own edification…and it helps me to think, say and do…in my own life…

Well, the other day while running my trap-line, I came across something that made me think…took me back to my childhood…and moved me to comment on the idea…the topic???…”When Up Is Down”…immediately the term “God’s Elevator” popped up in my mind…many years ago when I first became vitally interested in knowing Jesus Christ in a more intimate way…(amazing, that was about 50 years ago)…and in doing so, I became increasingly interested in knowing about the Bible…so I began to read and to study…this decision became one of the most important decision in my life…and still today I enjoy spending time reading and studying…

But early on, one of the verses that struck me was I Peter 5:6 “Humble yourselves therefore under the mighty hand of God, that he may exalt you in due time”…another was I Corinthians 10:12 “Let him that thinks he stand take heed lest he fall”.…and these two do not stand alone…hundreds of verses talk in terms of this paradox…the way up is down, to be low is to be high, bear the cross to wear the crown, to give is to receive…we must come to Him as little children…if we want to be first we must be last, servant of all…and on they go…

When I first saw this…I believed it because the Bible said so…I just didn’t know how it could be so…it was to be sure, intriguing…how does that work, I asked myself…so if this principle (as I kept reading) is all over scripture…it became clear…it is “God’s Elevator”…its how He works…totally counter to everything we are told…but I found His ways are better than ours…and over 50 years later, though it still seems intriguingly mind-bending…it still works…so if we want to “go up”…we must get on “God’s Elevator”…Oh, we can push the “up” button…but if we want to really “go up”…then push as we may…God takes us “down”…the way up is down…

It took me back further…I remember in my childhood…my Mom telling me in so many ways “not to think more of yourself than you should”…humility…but as I studied later…there it was in Romans 12:3 “…to every man…not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think.”…there are many other verses…hundreds really…that help us to realize we need to be on “God’s Elevator”…to humble yourself under the mighty hand of God…so that He will be able to exult you (whatever that may mean) in His own time…sounds good to me…and it works…

But further back (more than 50 years) into my childhood, attending Glenwood Chapel, I remember a Sunday School and Daily Vacation Bible School song that we were taught and sang…it goes like this…“Jesus and others and you/ What a wonderful way to spell joy/ Jesus and others and you/ in the life of each girl and each boy/ “J” is for Jesus for He has first place,/ “O” is for others you meet face to face,/ “Y” is for you, in whatever you do,/ Put yourself third and spell JOY./”

Whether for a child or a teen or an adult…putting God first in our lives is the principle…and the one I decided to live by so many years ago…and for me and for all of us…all of the sudden (to use a book title from  C. S. Lewis and what he found as he followed the same path)…we will be “Surprised By Joy”…

Leave a Reply

Categories

