Posted by: Jim E | January 18, 2011

Time For Some Music…Folk And Blues…And A Lesson in Country Music…

Every once in a while I am compelled by some force to write about music…I don’t know much about music…I suppose I am like most people…I know what I like when I hear it…and I like a lot of different kinds of music…but most often I depend on others to put it in front of my face…mostly because I am not “hooked” to an iPod, or iTunes or whatever else is around that brings music to most of this generation…it used to be radio…and maybe it still is…but when I hear that someone has hundreds of songs on their iPod or some other electronic device…I am amazed by the number…and then when I see earphones (ear buds, I guess is the term) in the ears of those same people…I ask myself, “Do they listen to “all” of those hundreds of songs???”…I find myself not believing that it is possible…not enough time or enough “stomach” for it is my answer…but I don’t know that for sure…as is often the case, others probably understand more about that phenomenon  than I do…

“Oh bother”, quoting the notable and quotable Winnie the Pooh…I didn’t even want to go there…I know so little about it…but back to the point…I don’t listen to much music…unless it is put in front of me…like happened the other day…and I do like good music…it never ceases to amaze me how talented some people are…how they can play those instruments as they do…or write music…or sing…I am forever impressed by creativity…and music is one area that it shows…

PowerLine is a political blog…but they keep their sanity by once in a while posting about a singer, or songwriter…or about music…there is no way to keep talking about politics all the time, without going crazy…and this is a great way for them to keep their sanity and have people like me see and hear about good music that they have found…and this week was no exception…so I give kudos to PowerLine for most of this post…

The song “Sweet Memories”…a song recorded by many…written by Mickey Newbury…who has written many wonderful songs…”Newbury infused his songs with haunting beauty and spiritual melancholy”…as you watch and listen to this song that will become apparent …though I am not a country music fan (that would mean I would have to listen to country music more than once a year, I imagine)…so though I am not a fan…it doesn’t mean I don’t know when a good song is performed…and this one is a keeper…if you don’t think so…listen to it again…and then again…it is that good…it is dedicated to the legendary “Papa” John Hughey on the pedal steel guitar in this video…who passed away November 2007…the group is “The Time Jumpers”…what PowerLine calls “a semi-nebulous pickup group” of Nashville musicians…sometimes Vince Gill shows up to play…Dawn Sears fronts the band on the vocals…and sings this song like no one else……Oh, it is that good…It’s a Lesson in Country Music…Carolyn Martin sings harmony, wonderful…

How do you sing a ballad???…this is how…goosebumps all around on this song…put together, this is incredible country talent…can they play those instruments or what???…I repeat, it’s a lesson in country music…go ahead…play it again…

And the words to the song: “My world is like a river as dark as it is deep/ Night after night the past slips in and gathers all my sleep/ My days are just an endless stream of emptiness to me/ Filled only by the fleeting moments of her memories// Sweet memories, Sweet memories…//She slipped into the silence of my dreams last night/ Wandering from room to room turning on each light/ Her laughter spills like water from the river to the sea/ And I’m swept away from sadness clinging to her memories.// Sweet memories, Sweet memories…”

Leave a Reply

Categories

