Posted by: Jim E | January 11, 2011

Snowstorm???…In Arkansas???…You Must Be Kiddin’…

As I look out the window right next to my desk…(Sidebar…so soon???…yup…have I ever said how thankful I am for our house???…and how much I love, what we call our “office”…I have my desk that I made back in…Oh, let’s see, 1967 or 1968…it has followed us around…I have gone through many-a-chair (for obvious reasons) but the desk has remained the same…and I still love it…there are various things I made back “in the day”….still hanging together…all of them still here in this “office”…and so all of this together with “this” window right next to my desk…I love it too, great view…and the sky, Oh my…and good for what I do here at my desk everyday…Oh, and for the good of the order…and for the good of my marriage…I also love Judie, my wife, who out-dates (yes, I will be very careful here) let me say it this way…my love for her out-dates my desk and the house we live in…did I cover myself good enough here???…hope so…End Sidebar)

Starting again…sorry for that meandering but this window is wonderful…looking out it right now I see blue, blue sky…and the remnants of our snow…still on the ground…it won’t last long with temps in the 40’s coming in the next few days…so we will enjoy it…back in Minnesota they will have the snow they have now…which is significant…they will have it for the next couple of months for sure…and have had, so far this winter, the 3rd snowiest winter on record…Minnesota can have a January thaw but not always…so they will have this for a while yet…whereas here in Arkansas, this will be gone in a few days…

Snow started here on Sunday afternoon…it was steady, like rain does here many times, for about 9 hours…only putting down 2-4 inches here in Little Rock, maybe even a little more…other places got significantly more, south of us…but because this happens so infrequently the state and city do not invest in plows and all the other snow and ice fighting materials…so everything comes to a standstill…I-30, just south of us was a parking lot for about 12 hours…there where cars and trucks stuck in one place for all that time…I mean, stopped on the freeway for miles…snowing, cold and all those people sitting there with no food, water, gas, restrooms, etc…for all that time…and they couldn’t get to them…both lanes on both sides jammed solid for that time…the governor called out the National Guard to help out…a day later there is still a problem on that stretch…amazing to a transplanted Minnesotan…I’m not faulting anyone…they just don’t have the equipment to handle it, so things close down…

It certainly can be dangerous when those two forces converge on one another …drivers who have no experience driving on snow and roads snow covered and slippery…I will add a few pictures to tell the tale…even though we had plenty of warning…the same people who you will see on the side of the road…are the same people who have little or no experience driving on snow covered roads…and in and around Little Rock are hills and mountains to cross…and most vehicles don’t have 4w drive…so you know the results…those same people should have stayed at home…but there they were out trying to get up those mountains and hills…it was like pick-up sticks…they were all over the road…we had our 4w drive vehicle and we had to be out to pick up Jeremy and had to go around all these cars trying to get up the incline…and it didn’t matter the incline…just a little hill stopped them dead…it was a mess…I was glad to get home…I am more concerned about people being out that don’t know what they are doing, than the snow itself…so we stayed at home until we had to get out…amazing…

But all this…I love…because it is part of life…our life…and when we were in Minnesota…the same…it was our life and we loved it…and many times life was/is hard…but it is so good…and snow or no snow…all of it is part of our lives and we love living…so, it is good…

Responses

  1. Beautiful pictures. Snow will keep me home unless I have to go out. It doesn’t shut things down here unless it is over 6 inches or so, and usually just schools.

    ~Cheryl

  2. Snowstorm in AK seems impossible but there it is! You can be very happy that is all you have. We have so,so much snow and we have just started winter. But I have to say it has been a beautiful winter in MN

  3. Hi, I am planning to move to Little Rock for a further medical programme in UAMS. Just wanted to know about the weather there. Does it snow often?

    • We have only been here since 2007, so it will be 4 years this July…so we certainly are not experts…but being from Minnesota where the weather reports on the news are about 10 minutes long every night…I am a “weather junkie”…so I keep close tabs on it in Arkansas too…so yes, we have had snow I think every winter we have been here…but only a day or two…ice is more of a problem but we have had only one major ice storm…all of the snow or ice is only a short day or two problem…the problem is, because we don’t get much of it, they have basically no equipment to move it or treat it…so you basically wait until the sun comes out…and weather warms up…so you just stay home…and you don’t really want to get out…because people don’t know how to drive in snow or ice…but it is only once or twice during the winters we have been here…it’s gone in a day or two…most of the time it is great…pansies bloom all winter…and there are loooong falls’ and springs’…they are beautiful…summers, though are brutal…very hot and humid…so A/C is on most of the time May through September…but flowers, trees and bushes blooming most of the spring through fall…it’s beautiful here…we love it…and love the short winters…

      One other thing…I don’t know your medical needs, but UAMS is great…and medical care here in Little Rock is second to none…it is top rated…most may say, “In Arkansas???”…and I will say, “Yes, indeed.”…and we have been to Mayo in Minnesota and in Minneapolis…where the care is world class…I think it is wonderful there too…but it is great care here, world class…good luck…we love it here…we have been to UAMS many times, we have a son who has special needs…but Baptist hospital and other medical care is great…we have been pleasantly surprised, although we knew before we came about the reputation in Arkansas…so surprise is a bit of misnomer…


Leave a Reply

Categories

