Posted by: Jim E | December 26, 2010

What???!!!…Forgot The Swedish Sausage???!!!…Uff da…

When you get so busy on Christmas morning fixing turkey, dressing and stuff…and you forget to fix the Swedish Sausage…you are just too busy…we settled in at home, “after” a great Christmas dinner…and Judie looked at me and said, “So, did you mean not to fix the Swedish Sausage???”…she is so cute…of course I meant to fix it…Wow…so now I have to find a place to have this delectable item of Swedish culture…and then I realized that the last of the lefse is dwindling down to a precious few…how is it that I can have Swedish sausage without lefse???…

This is what happens when you get too busy…the most important items just slip by…but not to worry…tonight is the night…Swedish sausage does not “keep”…all fresh, no preservatives…you can freeze it but once it is thawed it “goes” fast…so tonight is the night for the “Great White” or what some people would call…the “Great Bland” supper…Swedish sausage (very light colored), mashed potatoes (white), lefse (white)…and other things which would not make it very high on the color wheel…no reds, greens, blues or yellow…Oh, I have had some green beans, corn before, but nothing to write home about in the color department…what really would be “in line” with the Swedish theme would be rutabaga…certainly not beaming with color…but I do love it…

So I will leave you with this confession of failure…we brought it all the way from Ingebretson’s in Minneapolis last summer but…no Swedish sausage for Christmas…it was out to thaw…and was ready to fix but alas and alax…I failed in the task…my Mother would not understand my forgetfulness…she never forgot it in the yesterday’s of my life…but knowing her…she would forgive this wayward son…and would enjoy it with us tonight…

So tonight I will invite my folks to our Swedish “make-up” meal…and will enjoy thinking about them both…they loved Swedish sausage as much as I do…join us will you…come along for this small extension of Christmas dinner…it will be worth it…

Oh, and by the way, I forgot the Swedish meatball mix in the freezer…that, I was going to make into Swedish meatballs on Christmas Eve…age has it disadvantages…and being forgetful is one…being too full from yesterday is another…Oh well, Swedish sausage is worth it…and leftovers tomorrow…Uff da…

Responses

  1. I am not a big fan of any kind of sausage because it is just too spicy for me. How do you prepare Swedish sausage? You make it sound so good that I almost want to try it. Enjoy your day after Christmas meal.


Leave a Reply

Categories

