Posted by: Jim E | November 2, 2010

A Scooter Ride…And A Dessert Cart…A New Computer…And America……Oh, My…

I haven’t been able to post for a few days…I got a new Dell PC and for this old guy…getting it “hooked up” and then learning to use Windows 7 takes a few days…that of course doesn’t mean I have it all working like I would like but at least the things I use all the time…it’s kinda fun as a matter of fact…for most of you who know something about computers or who grew up with them…I’m sure it would have been frustrating watching a couple of old people trying to get things going…but we are getting there and learning a few things along the way…

This will be short and to the point…I got an email from one of the readers of this blog, who sent me a link to an email from a joint acquaintance from another blog (kinda complicated, huh?)…it reminded me of something I put together in 2003…I read a couple of unrelated things at that time…and all the sudden they became related in my mind…so I sent it out…and with a few edits I will post it with some comment…so here goes…

2003…I just liked these two items…so here they are with some comment…

The first is from James Merrill, a poet…he was visiting his doctor about his depression, saying that he didn’t know how to live, of how to love, he just knew how to write a poem. The doctor, he said, “Listened closely, then acted with undreamed-of kindness and dispatch, ‘Come with me’, he said, in a flash ushering me out of his downtown office and onto the back seat of a smart little pale-green motor-scooter. I put my arms, as instructed, about his stout, gray-suited person, and off we went in sunlight, through traffic, under trees, past architecture, over the muddy river to lunch.”

I loved that…so many of us…especially Christians think…that when we are down and maybe a little or even a lot depressed…it’s like we are the activities director on the titanic…tucking a Bible under our arm and saying “Follow me”…sometime we don’t need another sermon or devotional or a quiet room to read…sometimes what we need is, “Lunch!!!”…sometimes we need to get out and go…drive in the traffic or in the country…in the sunshine or shade…see God’s green creation…trees and rivers…even to see what man has done…because God gives gifts and miraculous creativity for us to share…but to just get away from majoring on “ourselves”…

And the second item…since I mentioned the Titanic…is from the great philosopher and theologian, Erma Bombeck…and one of her famous quotes...”Seize the moment. Remember all those women on the Titanic who waved off the dessert cart.”

Okay…I’m back…life is really wonderful…we all know people who are going through very tough times…and we all have gone through “stuff” too…and it’s very hard…because life is sometimes hard…but life is so good…for example, today is election day…we voted early here in Arkansas…but many here are voting today…it gives me such pleasure to see people take on their responsibility and vote…I have heard a bunch of reasons why people don’t vote…and all of it, poppycock, i.e. empty talk, nonsense…because we are so fortunate to be able to vote…it is a right, privilege, duty, and many other descriptive words…but I remember my dad and mom…they had little in this world and they never missed a vote…my dad served in WWII for this country…the country he lived in…and that we live in now…if we want the right to vote we have to know what is going on and vote accordingly…we are so fortunate…

So with all that unrelated “stuff”…let me take leave with two quotes from my blogger friend…”Every day, every minute, every breath truly is a gift from God.” and “Life may not be the party we hoped for, but while we are here we might as well dance.”…

I still see life through the lens that “God is in Control”…whether it seems that way at all times or not…I believe it with all my being…and He will see us through this time or anytime…as He has other times…

And to top this off…one of my favorite musicals…an underrated film with Peter O’Toole and Petula Clark…”Goodbye Mr. Chips”…a 1969 remake…here Mr. Chips sings “What a Lot of Flowers”…”what a lot of color”…and as they ride through the English countryside it reminds me of the “Scooter Ride”…enjoy…



Leave a Reply

Categories

