Posted by: Jim E | October 12, 2010

The Mail…A Gold Star…Our Lives…And Color…

As I sit here working on this post…I hear thunder…and rain pouring down…finally I look out the window and we are having a beautiful rain right now…and oh, how we need it…it can rain a lot here in Little Rock…but we have been in the middle of a mini-drought…no rain for about a month…and with high temperatures…moisture evaporates quickly…so it is welcome…it rained for about a half an hour…good soaking rain…I love it…and now…I look out and see blue sky…with white clouds drifting along…what beauty God gives to us, worthy or not…

But this post is not about weather…but I can’t help telling you about it…it is so wonderful to see it happening…

I have been mulling over in my mind about many subjects…but you probably understand that when all these different thoughts come into your mind…then all the sudden you realize that there are one or two ideas that keep coming up…so that is where I am today…and not sure I can pull it off, but will try…

I was reading Country Magazine the other day…they had people write in about favorite memories of getting mail…they were good…but one pulled at me a little more than the others…a person wrote about his mailman that delivered their mail on their farm in 1943…he would meet him everyday…always friendly, smiling and sharing neighborly news…but one day something unusual happened…no smile and the good cheer was gone…tears ran down his cheeks…he delivered the mail in silence and left…later he learned that their neighbor’s son had been killed on a combat mission in the Pacific…the mailman was delivering that message from the War Department…some 400,000 such messages were delivered during WWII…those telegrams changed lives forever…heartaches that never would heal…

It made me think back to the late 1940’s, of one of our neighbors, just down the block, who lost a son in the Pacific…the Gold Star remained in their window for many years…and “that” reminded me of a story in the book “Flags Of Our Fathers” by James Bradley…it is a wonderful book that follows all 6 of the flag raisers on Iwo Jima…Franklin Sousley was one of them…he was killed on Iwo Jima toward the end of the three month battle…he was from Hilltop, Kentucky…with no phone, Goldie, his mother, had to wait for the mail to come…her reaction was remembered in Hilltop the longest…the telegram came to the Hilltop General Store…and because they didn’t have a phone, a young barefoot boy ran it up to her farm…53 years later, Bradley said, the neighbors, a quarter-mile away, told they could hear Goldie scream all that night and into the morning…another life changed forever…

There are things that happen in life that change you…a death of a parent, or child, or relative…it could be a illness…I could go on and on…but we all have something like that in our lives…I use a daily devotional for a starter for my day…it’s called “Our Daily Bread”…and because I have followed it day to day for years…you get to know the writers and what has happened to them…it comes through their writings…one of them lost a 17 year old daughter in a car accident a few years ago…and it comes up, not every time he writes, but often enough for me to notice…that is very normal…an event like that will be with you for as long as you live…and will be a pivotal time which will change the way you see your own life and everything around you…

In our family’s life, it was when Jeremy was diagnosed with brain cancer when he was two and a half…and all the things that occurred since then…I will write about that sometime (I imagine it probably has come through my posts)…but that was a watershed in our family…and it still effects us today…

But it is from those “watershed” times in our lives that we have to chose which way we will go…how will we face the next challenge in our lives???…those are the decisions we must face…I have learned along the way that we must stand up to those things…even things we don’t understand or think we deserve (running away only makes things worse)…and though we find ourselves “short on strength” to face them…still we must go on…I look to my Mom as an example…she did have to face tough times and though she didn’t have the answers, she persevered though those times until late in life when she could no longer do it…physically and mentally she needed help…but she was amazing…

Two verses come to me this morning and sustain me and many others this day…”I have loved you with an everlasting love…” (Jeremiah 31:3) and “The eternal God is your refuge, and underneath are the everlasting arms.” (Deuteronomy 33:27)…we are loved with an everlasting love and underneath are the everlasting arms…

And finally, in my “mail” today was “Color”…why is the world full of color???…think: Fall leaves…or flowers, or your local paint store!!!…color…it seems to serve no practical purpose…no one can discern a purpose…so why do we have photo-receptors in our eyes that enable us to see it???…it is the goodness of God…He is “good to all, and His tender mercies are over all His works” (Psalms 145:9)…”He colored the world for our childlike delight…He is like that, you know.” (Our Daily Bread, October 12, 2010)…

For you today…though we may be full of thoughts and maybe burdened…hope springs from these verses…isn’t it wonderful, our mailbox is full of hope and joy…and a special gift of God…”Color”!!!…


Responses

  1. Beautiful thoughts for today Jim! I was wondering if you had been ill as the last or one of the last notes you wrote said something about nearly dying?! Anyway I am thankful we have color vision.


Leave a Reply

Categories

