Posted by: Jim E | October 3, 2010

Fidget Stone…Blotches…Dogpatch…And Music…

There it is…right there…in our bedroom, beside my Kangaroo Keeper (no not the purse organizer sold on TV…oh, I’ll attach a picture)…the Kangaroo Keeper is not the aim…follow along, please…let me begin again…beside my Kangaroo Keeper and next to Jeremy’s first ceramic project that he ever made (okay I’ll send the picture of that too)…it looks sorta like a Buddha with a big belly…he sorta saw the future I guess…anyway, I digress…beside the Kangaroo Keeper and the ceramic Buddha sits my very own “Fidget Stone”…you may ask what is a fidget stone and what do you mean your “very own”???…

Well, fidget has a couple of meanings depending how you use it…as a noun: uneasiness or restlessness as shown by nervous movements…or as a verb: to move or act restlessly or nervously…clearly, both are talking about the same word and we have all seen it or felt it…hence the need for a fidget stone…I have had that fidget stone for many years (my definition of “many years???”)…more than 35…you are skeptically asking yourself…”He has had that particular stone, that very stone for most of his life???”…uh, ya, that would be right…a large part of it…I can’t remember exactly when but many years ago…it may be more, I don’t know…

What is a fidget stone???…well, it has to be smooth…you can buy them…all “prettied up”…colorful, very smooth, a place for your thumb to go…and they are okay…but what is even more important is to “find” your own…I have “this picture in my mind”…down by a river (or could have been a lake)…in Minnesota…and along lots of those rivers are what is called in the “rock business”…”River Rock”…this is rock left over from maybe even glacial times…but for sure many years of water, ice, and churning about in the river, so they are rounded off…and some are smooth as silk…or as my Mom used to say, “Smooth as a baby’s butt”…perfect for picking up in your hand and rubbing between your thumb and other fingers…and in “this picture in my mind”, I taught this not-so-secret secret to my boys who were with me on this “hunt”…the great thing about “the hunt” is as you pick up a river rock and it isn’t quite what you want in the “smooth as a baby’s butt” department…you can throw it back…and try to “skip the rock” across the water…to give it another hundred years or three to become that fidget stone for someone else…but after ten, twenty…a hundred rocks…and you find “your very own” fidget stone…it is a big time…a necessary mini celebration…and…well, I still have mine…have I used it???…ya, from time to time (I mean, it’s right next to my Kangaroo Keeper) I pick up the fidget stone and give it stroke or two…for lots of reasons…but mostly because “it’s there”…puts my feet back under me, when I think about the really important things in life…family, God and His creation, my frailty, and this rock’s strength…and other things far more stable than what is going on that day in “my” world…it allows me to fidget, but with direction…I’m for that…

The blotches???…well, I’m full of them…reaction to something…good enough reason to get out the fidget stone for a couple of strokes don’t you think???…enough about that…and what may also give us all botches and be in need of a fidget stone, are the times we live in…and if you don’t keep a good sense of humor about you…you are doomed to a life of others controlling your life and how you will feel…so I have chosen to make part of everyday my time to laugh about something…and our government is always good for a laugh or two…that is if you don’t cry…and it made me think of “Li’L Abner”, a comic strip by Al Capp from bygone years…always satirical and making fun of anything and anyone in a place of power…he made all of us “nobodies” move to the head of the class…he made small town thinking and common sense the rule of “Dogpatch, USA”…(which, by the way,  was a theme park, based on the comic strip…located just north of us who live in Little Rock…between Jasper and Harrison, right in the Ozarks, along scenic highway 7, right here in Arkansas…it is now closed…Al Capp would somehow like that)…

But the Dogpatch from the comics, as Al Capp saw it, had all the common sense this country needed to move ahead briskly…and not in the hands of “those politicians”…so I will add a song from the movie “Li’L Abner”…”The Country’s In The Very Best Of Hands”…enjoy…

Well, I think we covered it all…let me look…oops, forgot the music…I know we had Stubby Kaye as “Marryin’ Sam” (always available for a $2 weddin’…or $8 for the ultra-de-luxe special)…but I mean Alison Krause…and I know for some of you who read this regularly have heard and seen this one before…but another blog I frequent often…has also posted this one for the second time this year…and I know why…it is beautiful…top to bottom…written by Gordon Lightfoot…sung by Alison Krauss and backed by her wonderful Union Station: Jerry Douglas, on the Dobro; Dan Tyminski, on the mandolin; Barry Bales, on bass; Ron Block, on Guitar…along with virtuoso Tony Rice on guitar…how fortunate we are to have YouTube…I just love this song…the whole of it…who wrote it, who plays it, who sang it…all put together makes for one wonderful four minutes in life…fidget stones and all, we end with this…enjoy…(and guaranteed not to give blotches)…




Leave a Reply

Categories

