Posted by: Jim E | September 29, 2010

It’s A Good Day…You Will Call, I Will Answer…

The weather has been down right unbelievable in Little Rock, Arkansas the last week…each day has been a little better than the one before…I know this is almost October…and October in Arkansas can be wonderful…long and kind…in the spring we are always dodging tornadoes and rain…the summer, like this last one, was a record-breaker as far as heat goes…just plain hot and for a long time…this week is the first time we turned off the A/C since we turned it on in May sometime…it’s been hot…

But if this is the beginning of fall and it continues like this…it will be wonderful…because fall in Arkansas is long…winter short…so we look forward to this time of year…an old song that comes to mind it one that I think many singers recorded…but Peggy Lee comes to mind…”It’s A Good Day” is the name of it…and it reminds me of a couple of things…the song is upbeat…my mom used to sing it while doing things around the house…I can see her washing clothes on the back porch and singing the song…

Peggy Lee and her husband Dave Barbour wrote it and recorded it on July 12, 1946…just after WWII ended in 1945…so it is easy for me to see my mom on the back porch of the house on 515 Meadow Lane…my Dad just got out of the Navy and this is the first house I can remember (we took this picture when we were in Minnesota earlier this month…the house is still there over 60 years later)…sun pouring in the porch windows and mom singing along with Peggy Lee…the video is from that time…Peggy Lee on the vocal and her husband Dave Barbour, the guitar player gets his licks in too…enjoy…

So I enjoy these “good days” as much as anyone…my mind often  goes back to a simpler time…just as troubled I’m sure…but simpler…at least it seemed so…when you are young, things, thankfully, are less stressed than they are for adults…I remember running up the hill of Meadow Lane…away from my dad for some reason…my mom coming to my rescue…for I’m sure I didn’t know where I was going…but I needed to be out of the street…

While we were in Minnesota a few weeks ago many things flooded my mind…one goes back to 1973…our youngest…age 2 1/2 was diagnosed with a brain cancer…Judie and I were about 30 years old…we had three older boys too…and what came to my mind is one night taking a break from the hospital I went over to my folks house…I came in and my mom got up and met me in the kitchen and she hugged me…I don’t remember her saying anything…but she cried…I cried…and said something that I’m sure sounded like, “I don’t understand” or something like that…”Just a little boy.”…I can’t really remember…and my dad was in the living room, looking out at us in the kitchen…he was concerned but said nothing…shook his head at appropriate times…but just lost for words…so was I…

I have found in those situations…there is little that we can say…just show our concern and offer help in anyway possible…that is what I got that night…they were devastated as we were…I really don’t know why I went there, except to give them a report…we were all empty…a lack of words to explain our own feelings…my folks or ours…

So you may say, why the downer…you start out with “It’s A Good Day” and end with this???…well, I guess I thought of Job 14:15…where Job was very low…the passage as a whole is not hopeful…Job is uncertain what will happen to him when he dies…he will return to dust and there will be nothing else…but in the middle of the passage, before he turns to despair, he has a moment of hope…it’s a very short moment just a couple of verses…he says: “You will call and I will answer. You will long for the creature your hands have made.” Job 14:15…

That my friends is a “good day”…a day of hope…and that is what Judie and I have lived with these 37 years…’cause Jeremy is alive and we are alive…you bet, not everyday has been upbeat and light…some days have been difficult…but everyday we find hope and joy for the journey…like the old Southern Gospel song…”I Wouldn’t Take Nothing For My Journey Now”…we are blessed…and when I’m down…I look up…because “It’s A Good Day”…full of hope…



Responses

  1. Good day!This was a really wonderful blog!
    I come from uk, I was luck to seek your website in digg
    Also I obtain a lot in your subject really thank your very much i will come every day


Leave a Reply

Categories

