Posted by: Jim E | September 25, 2010

America…You’re Too Young To Die…

It is so interesting to me, and surprising, the number of presidents that have served during my lifetime…at least, so far…it comes to 13…you say, no, that couldn’t be…but it is…Franklin Roosevelt was president when I was born…1942…now, true he was president for a long time before (since March of 1933)…and he was just elected to his 4th term when he died in April of 1945…and as you can guess I remember nothing about him from that time…the others?…well, here we go…Roosevelt; Truman; Eisenhower; Kennedy; Johnson; Nixon; Ford; Carter; Reagan; Bush, H.W.; Clinton; Bush, G. W. and Obama…

I do remember quite well all the presidents from Truman to Obama…it seems I liked to read about history at an early age…and I have changed some over the years…but what I remember and I suppose this would be true for most of us…we remember how things were for us and how life was  during a particular administration…whether there was a war, or depression, or recession, or a lost job…and on and on we could go…

You may ask, where are we going with this?…and what brought this up?…well, I saw two videos this morning and they were very good…by that I mean, they were well done…you may not agree with them but then life is like that…some things we agree with, others we don’t…

But the first one (and I will share them with you, just hold on)…the first one brought back many memories…some of which will resonate with those who lived during that time…like I said above…if you lived during those times and how it was for you…that will come back…

The second one was produced just recently and deals with things today…both are political videos…and both are from a conservative viewpoint…but those of you who have read my posts certainly have noticed I am on the conservative end of the political scale…Heavens!!!, I’m on the conservative end of just about any scale!!!…but putting that aside…they are well done and are juxtaposed to one another…and excellent job of that…whether we may or may not agree…

The first is the video from the Ronald Reagan campaign in 1984…he was running for his second term…

Sidebar…I remember very well what the Carter presidency (which preceded Reagan) meant to us…we were a family of six, four very young children and one income…and trying to make ends meet…during that time there was high inflation and a recession i.e. high unemployment…it was tough…I remember going to the store and finding that Campbell’s tomato soup had just gone up another 10 cents a can…a bad time to raise a family, I’ll tell you…End Sidebar…

During Reagan first term, things were better…much better…previously, this country was feeling down…and the fear was we would never get up…but with Reagan’s upbeat leadership…things were going in the right direction…so here is the video…”It’s Morning Again In America”…

The second, like I said, is juxtaposed to the Reagan video…which has become the gold standard for political videos to copy…and this is well done too…and when you look at families today, it is a lot like it was for families during the late 70’s…and this video will impact them like the Reagan one did 26 years ago…”There’s Mourning In America”…

I’ve been around awhile…alive and aware of politics good and bad…I haven’t always been right, of course…but have tried to do the right thing…and how you vote or your political opinions are your own…but what we must agree on, if we love America…it’s too young to die…


Leave a Reply

Categories

