Posted by: Jim E | August 18, 2010

imjustwalkin, Whidbey Island, Ault Field, Ivan Doig and Me…

Now that is a long title…and it will be difficult to explain it…but let’s go…

The header I have on “Your Roving Reporter” is sort of the way I view the coast of the Pacific Northwest…I really don’t know where the picture is from…but I like it…and that is where our intrepid engineer, Matt Green is walking “toward” right now…he is about 4, maybe 5 days away from the end of his journey…at least this part of it…and I have followed him, as many others have, across America…its been enjoyable…

So I start with http://www.imjustwalkin.com again…the other day I commented on his website whether he might have heard some sonic booms as he was walking near Portland, Oregon…I had read online that a private plane had violated air security of Air Force One as it flew near Seattle, Washington…they scrambled F-15’s from the Portland area…and they set off sonic booms all across the area from Portland to Seattle, only 140 miles apart…rattling windows and causing residents some consternation…and then I remembered a  sign outside the Naval Air Station on Widbey Island and thought it was appropriate…it said, “Pardon our noise, it’s the sound of Freedom”…and posted that in my comment…

Now after, or as, I posted that comment…this is where my mind skips a jog or two…I don’t know how your mind works but mine just took off like one of those F-15’s…and all the sudden I am 37 years ago…in Washington…just North of Seattle…(now I lied above)…I didn’t remember the name of the Island…but as I sat down and thought about it for a while…I remembered the name Whidbey Island…and Deception Pass…have you ever been over that bridge???…and look down on the swirling waters…rip tides and whirlpools…they called it Deception Pass because early explorers thought at first it was a bay instead of a strait…the bridge is how you get to Whidbey Island…

Whidbey is a beautiful Island…5th largest in the United States…after the likes of Long Island in New York and others…it is 36 miles long and 1 1/2 to 12 miles wide…I was in Washington to visit my Aunt and Uncle…and we went over Deception Pass Bridge…past the Naval Air Station and drove to the South end of the Island and took the ferry to Mukilteo…a beautiful town outside of Everett and Seattle…we stopped at a small restaurant for clam chowder, overlooking the harbor…wonderful…

Whidbey Island is the home of the Naval Air Station…and Ault Field…oops, “Ault”…it happened again…another jog of the memory bank for me…I just read another book by Ivan Doig…a wonderful writer of Montana…it was called “Heart Earth”…it is a memoir about his growing up years in Montana…his mother died when he was 6 and this book was written because of some letters he received when his uncle died…these were letters that his mother had written to her brother when he was in the Navy during WWII, in the Pacific…he was stationed on board a destroyer, the USS Ault…as you can see…my mind was piqued…

The USS Ault and Ault Field on Widbey Island were named for Commander William B. Ault…a pilot, who was lost during the Battle of the Coral Sea…do you see these different things coming together on the same day???…when you get older things have a tendency to do that…more experiences…more places…more people…more learning, mostly through just living…and as life races by we must grab on and watch closely…and remember…author Willa Cather said, “Life began for me, when I ceased to admire and began to remember.”…life’s riches are there for each one of us…I choose to remember and enjoy it…

I find it interesting, I was going to say strange but not so…it is life and the enjoyment of it that makes things like this happen…your life observances and experiences, if you enjoy them, come back and treat you to wonders that you thought were gone…yesterday was a fun day…digging into the past that is not only mine but my Aunt Rose and Uncle Harlan…Commander William B. Ault…Ivan Doig…Matt Green…and the Pacific Northwest, with all it’s wonders…just how can you beat that for a good, good day!!!…

Responses

  1. Hi Jim! Met you on I’m Just Walkin’! Now I ‘ve looked up your blog.

    You mentioned your header picture…with the beautiful green. Sure that isn’t England or Ireland? It is so pretty!

    My girlfriend here on Paros, use to live on Whidby Island. She told me about the sonic boom and why! Pretty amazing! I wonder if Matt did hear it? I think it was pretty much determined that was the potty stop picture! Ha, ha.

    So you visited Whidby as a kid….and so did I!!! However I was a little girl (1940’s) (I’m an old girl now!!!). We lived in Spokane and it was a real treat to go to Seattle and Whidby and other places.

    I will take some time now and read up on your blog. Gosh, my life has definitely been taken over by BLOGS! What a way to go!!

    Take care,
    Karin

    • Karin…yes, I did visit (Widby or whidbey both correct I’ve learned) not as a kid, well, to me now I was a kid…but I was about 32 or so…back in the 1970’s…so I do have some perspective on age, I guess…it seems awfully young as I look at it today…but you are right the island was beautiful…and when we got to Mukilteo (another beautiful town) I loved the clam chowder we had there…I feel I could walk right to it but things change in almost 40 years…

      The header…I don’t know where it is…I just liked it…but you are right Ireland may be a good choice…it has that touch…and I think I remember you either lived there or visited???…but anyway you have seen it, I haven’t…but I just love the picture…

      We flew to Spokane the year we went to Portland/Seattle…just the right size airport…like Little Rock is now…or Minneapolis…smallish I think you know what I mean…I like that instead of those sprawling ones…anyway I have enjoyed your comments on imjustwalin.com…thanks…Jim E


Leave a Reply

Categories

