Posted by: Jim E | August 10, 2010

The Boys Of Fall…Heavens, It’s Football…

Hey, it’s 100 degrees out there…the dew point is 78 degrees…if that adds up to anything else but hot on your calculator…it’s broke!!!…here in Arkansas it’s full summer…this is what is expected and for a transplanted Minnesotan, it is quite a change…a bit of a shock to tell you the truth…in my heart of hearts…it says, “Stay in a/c if you know what’s good for you.”…

Well that may be what I feel like…but around here…it’s football!!!…oh, football is football the country-over…but here it is just a tad more important…people just can’t wait until football…they talk about it most of the year…on radio, television, everywhere…and not just the NFL…because college football is bigger… the Razorbacks (since we have no NFL team)…high school doesn’t trail behind much…but also youth football…churches have leagues…every flat surface in Little Rock (and “flat” is hard to come by in Little Rock) has a team of one age or another on it…so if I haven’t mentioned it yet…football is big here…the SEC is mentioned in hushed tones…almost revered…and the truth is…I don’t really know much about it…I’m not on the inside of this animal…but it thrashes around with everyone giving it plenty of room…

In one of my former lives I coached football…played it in high school…not very well but played every game none the less…coached it in my first teaching job in Michigan…first an eighth grade team…then high school…I don’t know if I ever really caught the emotion that is in the game (most people around me would probably dispute that but)…maybe because I knew I would never want to be a head coach…you needed to know too much and so much pressure to win…

So I know a little of what the game is…but this is above and beyond me…I remember when I returned to Minnesota…Coon Rapids High School…I was a teacher first then moved into being principal…our team, the Cardinals, won our first state championship…Coach Scott was great…he could speak…he was as good as they come…he could move kids to do just about anything…and they rose from being just average kids to winning the state tournament…he had a wonderful coaching staff…they had a rapport with the kids that was phenomenal…special kids with a special staff of coaches who loved them and wanted the best for them…it was great…I remember that night at the Metrodome in Minneapolis, the 1983 Prep Bowl…huge crowd…great teams and a wonderful finish…and of course we won…that was the best…but what a night…I can “feel” the emotion yet…the crowd, the lights, the bands, the players, the noise…

Sidebar…I remember when our boys were young and we would travel on a Friday night, from the Minneapolis area to Sioux Falls, South Dakota…to visit friends…it was fall…crisp in Minnesota…and dark…and as we traveled those hours to get there…I would point out to the kids all the “lights” we would see across the landscape…open farm land so it was easy to see small town after small town…their football field lights on…we might see two or three from where we were at the time…and I knew what was happening there…teams, fans, bands, hot dogs, popcorn, referees, whistles and lots of noise…football was happening…and on Friday nights this fall…football is happening…End Sidebar…

It doesn’t matter if you are into sports or competition or any of that stuff…because this is happening all over America…they are the boys of fall…and this is real…it is palpable if you are involved or even if you only skirt it on the outside…

I know I can’t describe it with words…but if you have ever been involved with something like this…you can feel what I am saying…Kenny Chesney has a song and a program coming out about this very thing…I’m not necessarily a country fan, nor a Kenny Chesney fan…but this is good…and will give a flavor for what happens on a Friday night all across this land…


Responses

  1. Never thought I would sit through that Youtube video, but I did and enjoyed it very much. It actually has a pretty powerful message. Maybe it is because I live in Greece, but to me, it was full of the old American Spirit I remember! Thanks showing it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

