Posted by: Jim E | July 22, 2010

It’s 100 degrees…Let’s Commiserate…

I have to keep reminding myself that we live in Little Rock, AR…and it is summer…and let me say from the outset we enjoy our life here in Arkansas…but like I always said when we lived in Minnesota…”I live here so I can complain about the weather.”…I feel the same about here…

I always loved Minnesota…and I guess I always will…but there were times when I just had to complain about the cold or the lack of experiencing a fall or a spring of any kind…I never remember complaining about not having a winter…that, was pretty constant…and though I think we complained about heat/humidity in the summer…at least the few days that we had that kind of weather…we ran our a/c maybe a total of a week or two during the summer…maybe a little more but not much…I used to always say that summer in Minnesota was always beautiful…it’s why people lived there…there was just not a lot of it!!!…

Now on the other hand here in Little Rock…summer is also beautiful…but you have never experienced hot/humid until you have lived here  (I suppose further South or in the tropics it is worse but I am not talking about that in this post)…we turned on our a/c June 1st and we have not turned it off since…it is now July 22…and we do not expect to turn it off for even a “nice day” (when the heat/humidity is comfortable) because we won’t have one of those, until sometime in late September or early October…

Mind you, early October in Minnesota, we were putting away summer things and were readying the first snow of the season…in Arkansas, in October, we will be thinking of turning off our a/c for the first time in 4 months…it is a bit unreal to a transplanted Minnesotan…our first year down here, which was 2007, we ran the a/c at least once every month of that year…since then it has not been the case but still it has been a lot…

We are in the middle of summer in Arkansas…July and August are probably the hottest…we have been in the mid 90’s all month, which is ” the average” temperature for this time of year…so being up around 100 degrees is not unusual…last summer we didn’t hit 100 degrees even once, close but didn’t hit the century mark…but this year, it has hit that mark a couple of times…in 2007 it was over 100 a number of times…by the way that is hot!!!…

But it is never “just” the temperature that gets to you…it is the humidity…or dew point…the dew point is a more accurate way to judge how uncomfortable it will be…40 degree dew point is very comfortable, in fact a little dry…50 degree dew point is comfortable…60 is okay but upper 60’s can be uncomfortable for some…70’s very uncomfortable, upper 70’s oppressive, extremely uncomfortable…etc…

Well, it has been not only been in the upper 90’s but the dew point has been in the middle 70’s everyday…lets say I have not enjoyed working outside much these days…and this will go on for many weeks…and only rain will interrupt this scenario…so you can see why people have a tendency to complain about this weather…

I was talking with a man in a business suit outside a store in Little Rock not long ago…he said he was in Rochester, MN and they were talking about how humid it was…he said, “I didn’t say anything but they really don’t know what humid is.”…and he was right…as a Minnesotan, the humidity I complained about happened so infrequently and we knew it would only be for a few days and it would pass…but in AR…no such thing…the way the weatherman on TV says it…”Wait for October.”…

Responses

  1. I have to say that is one reason why I like the West, low humidity. We can be up to or over 100 and we have low humidity. We haven’t run our a/c once this year. I think we have been at 100 once, last week. We enjoy cooling the house down with our swamp cooler. In fact we can be bundled under blankets in the living room watching TV and it is is in the 90s outside.

    ~Cheryl


Leave a Reply

Categories

