Posted by: Jim E | May 22, 2010

Blackberries…Are They Good, Or What…

I must have had a bleak childhood…apple cobbler, rhubarb cobbler, peach cobbler, raspberry cobbler…(in pie too, but today we are talking cobbler)…but it was not until I was in my 30’s that I was first introduced to blackberry cobbler…I’m almost ashamed to admit it…but though my Mom was a great cook…and baker…and we always had pie, cake, cobbler…but never did we have blackberries in anything…I assume Minnesota has blackberries…but I don’t remember them at all growing up…

Sidebar…While we had wild raspberries, plum trees and an apple tree in our backyard…and rhubarb growing in the side yard (called “pie plant” in my youth…no doubt that is what it was mostly used for…though my Mom not only made rhubarb pies but also rhubarb sauce and jam… wonderful)…Judie just made a strawberry/rhubarb pie (the rhubarb was from Minnesota, we had it in the freezer and the strawberries from Arkansas)…it is delicious…well, was delicious…and she has a recipe for a rhubarb custard pie…oh, that is so good…and a rhubarb cake, both too good to even begin to talk about in this post…End Sidebar

Oh ya…blackberries…they really don’t grow in Minnesota…at least very well…wrong growing zone…there may be some but for the most part they don’t grow there…so let me get back to my story about my first introduction to blackberries…

Judie’s Dad was born and raised in south central Illinois, near the Indiana border…he was born on a farm near Marshall, IL…this is right across the border from Terre Haute IN…Judie still calls it (me too…as well as everyone in the family) “The Farm”…so when in a discussion about family things…when someone uses the phrase “The Farm”…everyone knows what they are talking about…it is still “in the family”…Judie’s cousin and family are still there…so the whole family still sees it as a “touchstone”…lots of memories and lots of connections with “The Farm”…

And even me, though not officially in the family, at least not a blood relative…I still have memories…we have visited “The Farm” many times…family reunions, etc…lots of great memories and stories…so here is one of mine…many years ago…when Judie’s  Uncle John and Aunt Dorothy were alive…oh, maybe 30 plus years ago…I think it was a Yeley family reunion…and a meal on the grounds, in the hickory grove…Aunt Dorothy made blackberry cobbler…as I have said, I had never had blackberries before…but I tried it and fell in love…I asked where they got them…she said she picked them on the farm…”They grow wild.”, she said…”Where?”, I asked her…and so that afternoon I walked the fence rows looking for blackberries…and they were there in abundance…and she made me another blackberry cobbler…I still love Aunt Dorothy!!!…and I’ll tell you, she could make a great cobbler…

All over the South you will find blackberry cobbler on the menu…breakfast, lunch or supper…sometimes down here called breakfast, dinner, supper…anyway…you can get blackberry cobbler just about anytime of day and anytime of year…when we go to Branson, we always go to McFarland’s restaurant…they have good food and they have a terrific blackberry cobbler…any time of day…and this is true many places in the South…

Blackberries are all over…they grow wild by the side of the road and in fields…about two weeks ago someone asked if we have seen the blackberries blooming…things bloom here most months of the year…and so it doesn’t seem different to see something else blooming…but we looked and all along the roads we saw them…

We saw them everywhere…they were behind the place we bought our strawberries…on the way to Jeremy’s work…everywhere…so we are planning our picking schedule in the next few weeks…I imagine it will be the first part of June and beyond…

So here we are in the middle of blackberry heaven…they grow like weeds and are everywhere…we will see if there is a lot of competition out there…or will it be like on “The Farm”…abundance…the only thing we will miss…Aunt Dorothy…she was something…no one more giving…and no one that could make blackberry cobbler like her…


Responses

  1. Blackberries are wonderful. We have two patches. However, ours aren’t ready until August and we can keep picking until frost. I have made blackberry cobblers. We make jam and we can ours and use them in fruit salad or coffeecakes. I need to freeze some this year.

    ~Cheryl

  2. You mentioned Branson…..when Mary, Bev and I and Bev’s sister went to Branson one year, we stopped at the DQ for an ice cream treat. I happen to see 1 piece of blackberry pie in the case and went crazy because I LOVE blackberry pie. I said I wanted it. The proprietor said that it was the last piece and he had baked those himself in the morning and picked the blackberries himself. I was amazed. That evening we went to some restaurant and I saw blackberry pie in the case. I couldn’t wait to have another piece…it was delicious. So I told the waitress the story of the DQ pie. She started laughing and said…did you believe him? I said, Of course! She said “have I got a bridge to sell you”. She said…we all get our pies and desserts pretty much from the same vendor. So every time I hear the word blackberry, I still think of the Branson story!!

    Love your blogs…
    Barb


Leave a Reply

Categories

