Posted by: Jim E | May 20, 2010

LONGHOTS…Gotta Love’em…

No…I haven’t forgotten to blog…I just haven’t had the time…computer down…had to wash the windows…vacuuming to do…dust…you know, just all kinds of stuff…but I have been leaving myself notes about things to blog about…

In fact I have files of notes…most of which will never be written about…but today I will start on the list…it will be in fits and starts though…the first is “LONGHOTS”…(in fact most of this first batch is about food…surprise, surprise)…What are LONGHOTS, you may ask…first a picture of a jar of LONGHOTS…Mancini’s LONGHOTS to be exact…and then some specifics…

I stumbled on LongHots (I will forgo the caps on all the letters) some time ago…10, maybe 15 years ago…I think I found them on the store shelf and decided to try them…but I fell in love with them…they say they are “hot”…but they are not really that hot…a little burn, but not hot…but the flavor is wonderful…when I first bought them they were all green peppers…but the ones I got recently are multicolored peppers…red, green and yellow…they are beautiful…but the taste is the same…and that would be…”GREAT” (I used the cap key this time)…

Let me tell you the short story of my history with LongHots…remember they are fried peppers…so they are not crisp…but soft and they are not pickled …and so they go on pizza, sandwiches, salads, chili, sauces, meatloaf, hotdishes (hotdish is a Minnesota term, casserole to the rest of the world)…really anything you want…I have never used them on strawberry shortcake but they might be good there too…I just haven’t  tried…

I have posted a picture of my pizza and if you look closely you would see LongHots along one side…they would be the older model…meaning, the LongHots are all green peppers…but is that a pizza or what???…I will send along below a picture of my “latest creation” using LongHots (yes, I still left off the caps)…in my past life I used to make something called “cheese toast”…it was a piece of toast with grated cheese melted on top…and it is good in and of itself…but if you add things like chopped onion and other such items, it becomes a veritable cornucopia of flavors and taste…such is my new creation…a piece of Panara bread (French miche) toasted…a mixture of grated pepperjack and cojack cheese sprinkled on the top…a little chopped Vidalia sweet onion (or Walla Walla or Texas Sweets, great onions all)…topped with LongHots (notice the colors…told’ya, beautiful)…

And the taste is out of this world…with just a little burn but the flavor of the LongHots is wonderful…I am expecting my next shipment of LongHots from Mancini’s…they should be here anytime…they are so hard to find in AR…I gave up and ordered them online…okay…enough to make you hungry???…a little over 450 words on hot peppers…but it was worth it…enjoy your LongHots…


Leave a Reply

Categories

