Posted by: Jim E | April 26, 2010

Fair Weather Clouds…Thanks Mrs. Reid…

The Mid-South is know for many storms in the spring…well to be truthful, that happens all over the country…but especially in the middle of the country…tornadoes happen in every state in the union…but there certainly are more in the middle of the country…

Thunder storms form when cold or cool dry air and warm moist air meet and form super-cells or some other kind of cells (who knows?)…and “certain stuff happens” (that is the sum total of my knowledge of meteorology)…so lets go on…when those two air masses meet and that “certain stuff happens”…most of it super secret and a mystery to everyone…but they talk like they have it figured out…but they don’t…(proof: thousands of storm-chasers run around trying to tell us how this all happens, but the results are at best inconclusive…leaving us confused and huddling in our “safe place”)…

But I don’t want to talk about storms…we had a rash of them the other night…I think it was Friday and Saturday…and then they went across country into Mississippi and beyond…with negative results…so I don’t want to talk anymore about that…because after the storms, came the most beautiful weather we have had so far…and we have had one of the most beautiful springs I have experienced at any time in my life…weeks of blue skies, filled with fair weather clouds and low humidity…flowers everywhere…just wonderful…and yesterday and today are like that…Mrs. Reid, thank you…

Mrs. Reid was my 6th grade teacher…she was the best teacher I ever had…I remember when we were getting ready to go to school that year, as kids we all wondered who we would have as a teacher…Mrs. Jones…who, in our minds, let the kids do anything they wanted…and Mrs. Reid…who, in our minds, never let anyone say boo…we all knew Mrs. Jones smoked…I didn’t even know a teacher “could” smoke, but she did…and she would check out of class for a smoke…and the kids did what ever they wanted…I suppose they were suppose to do some assigned work…but we could hear them from across the hallway…and they were having a party…well, more like a riot…

We, of course, were not having a party…we were working on spelling, math, science, history, reading…need I repeat, we were working…on spelling, math, etc. and etc…we never did have a “party”, much less a riot…(Mrs. Reid, as you might guess, did not smoke!!!)…she taught…and we, in turn, learned…OR ELSE…she was task master…and I think as I look back, she had it more difficult because of Mrs. Jones…but you know…all of us in her class loved her…she was a great teacher…and it didn’t take too many weeks to understand…we were the lucky ones…I still think that…(and after almost 40 years in education, I still believe in her methods and her standards…and I believe kids still today appreciate that kind of teacher…fair, steady, caring and demanding)…

Well, enough of that…but I did have a little run-in with Mrs. Reid…I guess I hadn’t yet learned that I didn’t have a degree in meteorology…(I have since learned, see above)…she was teaching about clouds, weather terms, etc…and I raised my hand to correct her use of the term “Fair”…now mind you, I didn’t challenge Mrs. Reid about anything…but I was sure I knew this term…she said the term “Fair” meant blue skies and nice weather…but I was “sure” that I had read and heard people talk on the radio about it being “Fair and Cloudy”…that meant to me, it was cloudy but nice outside…I knew I was right…but she said that that wasn’t correct and if I thought I was sure…just bring in something that said that…

I was so sure…I searched everything…for many days…and I didn’t hear or read anything about it being “Fair and Cloudy”…I read “Cloudy”…I read “Fair”…but never “Fair and Cloudy”…after a number of days…although she never brought it up (she was kind)…I brought it up to her and told her…I guess I was wrong…but she encouraged me and you know what…she won me over again…she encouraged me to learn…she was great…

And I have never forgotten that lesson…every time we have a “Fair” day…I think of her…and what an encouragement she was to me…now I hated “spell downs” she made us do…and she never let us get away with anything…(like across the hall)…but I remember she was the one who talked to me the day my Grandmother died …it was during her class that I found out…she was the most caring and loving and demanding teacher I ever had…and it was her who made me want to have “her” kind of teacher all the way through school…I never liked an “easy” teacher and an out of control classroom…how about you???…

So when, like today…I look out and see those “Fair Weather Clouds” drifting through a Bluebird colored sky…I just thank Mrs. Reid, ’cause she helped me to learn and still enjoy what I learned…join me…

Responses

  1. […] are “fair weather” clouds…even though we have learned from the past…(thanks to Mrs. Reid)…that for the weather to be called “fair”…there can be no clouds in the sky […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

