Posted by: Jim E | April 24, 2010

What Does God Require Of Me???…

I guess over the years I have heard many list “requirements” of me…”you must do this” or “you must do that”…for this was the requirement of that institution or job or church, etc…sometimes I would bristle because I thought it was none of their business…or I thought it was a frivolous requirement…government sometimes does that…well, it seems more and more they do it…they seem to want more control of my life…what I can and cannot do…

The 2010 census, though an innocuous requirement…10 questions…simple to do…but it’s what they ask that sometimes bothers me…why do they need to know what race I am…does it matter how they will represent me…or how much they will give to local government based on race???…I don’t really know…I thought we were all Americans…the census is really about “we the people” having equal representation (more people in a state, more representatives to congress, simple)…so what’s the question about???…so I decided when I filled it out…I would put down “American”…and that’s what I did…so if they arrest me for saying that…so be it…I get tired of all that…I maybe wouldn’t be so concerned if they would tell me “why” I should do it…what is the merit of knowing my race…it’s just a requirement that bugs me and it’s seems to me I can ignore that one…it doesn’t hurt the census…it still gives a count of how many Americans live in this country and in this house…

The Constitution requires the government to take the census every 10 years…that is a requirement I will follow…the questions within the census…well, that is a different story…that I am, where I live, etc…all needed questions…after the “count”…what is all the rest for?…so the census is okay…a good requirement…but in America, at least for now, I am “free” to chose on some of the other stuff…and I did…

But there are some I cannot ignore…in my former life I was a principal of a large high school…and on my wall were a number a “sayings”, quotes and verses…one of them read: “Notice…the floggings will continue until the morale improves”…and, “What part of NO don’t you understand?”…and a plaque, “His Love Endures Forever”…and many others…as you can see, some “tongue in cheek” but others very important…I let people choose which was which…

But there was one that dictated to me…and to those who entered my office but mostly was a requirement of me…and I would point to that from time to time, so the person or persons who were there knew where I was coming from…as hard as it may be for you to believe, not everyone agreed with me on every decision I made…but I tried to live by this requirement…it is Micah 6:8…

It asks the question…”And what does the Lord require of you?”…many times I wanted to do more than what was “just”…that lacked “mercy”…and certainly would show I wasn’t walking “humbly with God”…and this “requirement” would pull me back from something that I would have regretted…have you ever been there???…

Many times people wanted me to do “more” than what would have been just or merciful…and I couldn’t do it…because of this requirement…it always seemed to work out for the best…it always does when we follow the Bible and its teachings…the Bible is a practical book…I have seen it abused by those who should know better…and I have seen it used to better churches, businesses, politics and society in general…

There is more and more ignorance of the Bible and what it teaches in our society…children, and adults for that matter, need good teaching from the Bible…not just prayer at the supper table or before bed…but systematic teaching from the Bible to give a background in how to live and what Jesus and the rest of the Bible has to say about life and living it well…and that is true throughout our culture…and because it is lacking, there is more and more confusion in our culture all the time…


Responses

  1. Uncle Jim,

    I have been enjoying reading your blog. I got the address from Matt. I liked what you said about the race and American. I also wondered why they needed to know that. I wanted to put Human for race. There is only one race in this world, the human race.

    Micah 6:8 is a great reminder.

    ~Cheryl (Graubner) Holcomb
    http://www.homesteadblogger.com/holcombfamily/

    • Cheryl…thanks for the comments…I read quite a few blogs everyday…and yours is included…I have some that are designated “My Personal Blogs”…those are people that I know personally…that includes you and Matt, your Mom and others…then there are those that interest me, political, spiritual, etc…so I enjoy them all…because I am retired I guess I get it all in…

      But I do enjoy yours…following your daily “stuff”…chores, school, recipes (I have used some of those)…and all the other family “stuff”…it brings back memories…but also makes me wonder “how” you do all the things you do…but it is fun to follow day to day…keep it up…and thanks for the fun that it is to follow your family…

      Uncle Jim E


Leave a Reply

Categories

