Posted by: Jim E | March 18, 2010

Young Mothers…I stand amazed…

Oh, I have known this for quite a while…I have been married for almost five decades…so I have seen a mother, very up-close for most of those years…and I have followed my mother and other mothers right to the end of their lives…so I have noticed and have appreciated…and loved so many of those mothers…

Just watching has been an amazing thing to me…but it all starts with being a young mother…just today I noticed again, something I have observed so often…a young mother with her young one going from the car to the store…she looked so young…and she was…oh, not a teen but certainly in her 20’s…and it replayed a thought over again in my mind…

First, let me tell you a habit of mine…I don’t like to shop…at least the way so many others do…it becomes a quest with me…in other words…I need something…I go to the place it is suppose to be…I go in…I pick it up, pay for it…and leave…now, that is not what most look at as shopping…and I agree…sooooooo, for example, I drop Judie off at the door and I drive out in the parking lot…with a good view of the door…and wait…so I have a good amount of time to people-watch…

From my perch in the parking lot, I see lots of interesting things…but one of the things I see is young mothers going into the doctor or grocery store or whatever…and see what they have to do to go into the store or doctor…and here’s where I am amazed…here the mother is…with the baby or young child or children…diaper bag, car seat carry-all thingy…and all the paraphernalia needed for the task at hand…amazing…it takes a good amount of time to get all that together…and then go in and face what needs to be done…

Now as I look at these women…I see someone who just a few short years ago…was wondering what she was going to do this weekend…or her date…or a haircut…or something else that had nothing to do with a little life she is now consumed with…and I do see the “consumed with” thing very clearly…she is devoted to that child, you can see it…and today as I waited for Judie at the allergy doctor…I saw a young mom…she was waiting for someone to come out…she was driving…but she went to the back door…took her baby out of the seat…she/he was asleep…but she carried the baby up to the front door…and carrying her/him very close…with her/his head close to her mouth…snuggling and kissing the baby as she got in the front seat…

Now that, was a picture…almost brings tears, as I thought about the change in this young woman’s life in the past few months and years…it was a great picture…wish I had a camera…

And how about all those young mothers who have a very ill child…we know many, many…to many it seems…but how do they do it???…the love…the care…the protection…the lack of sleep…the tears…I can’t even tell in words the love they have for that child…what in the world causes that change, from one who is involved with things of growing up…to a young mother who is totally devoted to her child/children…I think I know but not totally sure…

All I know is kids grow up with or without our permission…and girls grow up to be mothers…the magic may be in the process…but I have a feeling there is something about that young child in the arms of a mother…taking the baby home…it is now hers…what happens then, Wow…there is a transformation…it is something God put in moms…and it last forever…

Leave a Reply

Categories

