Posted by: Jim E | March 14, 2010

Soup, Sandwich and RC Cola…I remember…

Well…it is Sunday…I am reading a WWII book called “With The Old Breed” by E.B. Sledge…I’m hungry…and would also like a RC Cola…now that may not mean anything to you…but to me takes me back to the 70’s…

There we are coming home from church on Sunday evening…and after Judie and I fix the boys something to eat and put them to bed (well, on the way to bed)…I find myself in my Lazy Boy…up late watching “World At War” on TV…it is still around today…but it was an “umpteen” part series on WWII (actually 26 parts)…I loved it…the music score itself was wonderful…and when I hear it today in an ad for the series…I am right back to that time…in the Lazy Boy…with my fix’ins…

The fix’ins???…well, let me tell you…the sandwich…a good bread…buttered, add cheese, thuringer…(yes, thuringer…here in Little Rock we can’t find it…we go to a small town south of Little Rock…Owensville…and there is a little store there that ships it in from Milwaukee, WI…great stuff)…where was I???…oh yes, cheese…make that CoJack…sliced thick…then thuringer cut just the right thickness…followed by sliced Max’s kosher dill pickles…followed by another buttered slice of great bread…(did I mention to you I’m hungry?)…

And then the soup…Campbell’s Bean and Bacon…oh yes…my favorite…steaming hot…with crackers crushed into the soup…sprinkle a little grated cheese and mix it up…the flavor of the soup and the sandwich together is a meal made in heaven…

I could never get very far into the meal without one or more of the kids coming out to try this delectable treat…and that takes me to the part they really came out for…RC Cola…we couldn’t afford “pop” in those days…but we would buy one six pack of RC Cola per payday…so it had to last…but the kids loved it…as I did…so we had to share…the boys to this day would remember that time…

Oh ya…back to the meal…I still think RC is better than Pepsi or Coke…but at that time it was a lot cheaper…so we went with that…but we loved it…poured over a glass of ice, beside the bowl of steaming Bean and Bacon soup and a thuringer sandwich…to this day it still my favorite…

I’m almost sorry I brought you into this…but I am sure you are the better for it…giving you a gastronomical wonder to put before you eyes…and imagine me sitting before my TV, watching “World at War” and enjoying this meal fit for a king…join me???…(Did I mention that I’m hungry???)…


Responses

  1. I agree with you 100% that RC was the best cola out there! I’m not sure if they still make it and even if they do…is it the original recipe…not some new age version. It’s like when they tried to change the nut goodie recipe

    I remember some of our relatives that do not live in MN anymore, and your mother would send out care packages to them once and a while. I always thought that thuringer was made and sold across this nation…got to had it to those German sausage makers


Leave a Reply

Categories

