Posted by: Jim E | March 4, 2010

Holly Berries, Cedar Waxwings and Taxes…

As I am writing this, I am in the office/study/third bedroom sitting at my desk (what it is all depends what we are using it for at the moment…most of the time it is an office or study…though I do so little officing or studying, so who knows!!!)…to my right are two large windows, almost ceiling to floor…it is so nice to look out and see the weather, the sky, the mailman, or who is coming up the front walk or walking down the street…

I also can see our landscaping…the window almost reaches the floor so I can see the bushes right below it…(sidebar…when we built the house I was asked what kind of bushes and plants did we want…I told them, “Where we come from all the bushes and plants lose their leaves. So give us ones that stay green all year long.”…one of the bushes we put in was Holly and it is a very green and full of bright red berries in the late winter…we love it…end sidebar)…it is a great room to do what I do in here…today…it is blogging…but the other day it was taxes for 2009…

Now I don’t do all the taxes…I send it out, if you know what I mean…I do the gathering of information…then send it to someone else to “do” it for me…all the forms, etc…and hopefully in about a week or two or three, I get the refund in our bank…magic!!!…enough about taxes, not my favorite subject and not always do I get a refund…so enough about that…

While doing taxes I am fairly involved…not a lot of looking around…I am pretty much “on task” for the duration…(“for the duration”…a term I have from my childhood…my Dad would always use it…he got it from when he was in the Navy during WWII…once he sign the papers, he was “in” the Navy “for the duration”)…I was just so involved with taxes on that day a couple of weeks ago…

But as I was at work…I kept noticing out of the corner of my eye, birds flitting about…I ignored it for some time…but after a half hour our so…I took my eyes off the figures and looked out the window….there were birds all over the holly bush…there were about 15 or 20 Cedar Waxwings, a few Robins and even a Bluebird or two…the bush was covered with them…then they would fly off to a tree across the street…and back they would come…our holly was losing the hundreds of berries it had worked so hard to develop…but it was a hoot to watch…and it was up close…about a foot or two outside the window…

This happened in Minnesota too…on our ornamental crab apple tree in the front yard…in the middle of the winter a whole flock of Cedar Waxwings came through and cleaned it out…and so they did with our holly…it was fun to watch…Cedar Waxwings are noted for this behavior in the winter…after the berries are frozen they soften up and are easier to eat…and the bitter taste has mellowed…they are toxic to us but birds and animals love them…especially this time of year…

Kind of like doing taxes…taxes are a bit toxic to us…but we take part in them this time of year…and from this vantage point: our office/study/third bedroom…the view I have…and what I saw while doing them…well, it was wonderful…


Responses

  1. I love the pictures. You work or Judie’s?


Leave a Reply

Categories

