Posted by: Jim E | March 1, 2010

Well, I Just Can’t Help It…

Yesterday, February 28th, there was a full moon…I don’t always know when that is…Oh, it’s on the calendars…but I don’t pay much attention unless it is a clear night…to tell the truth, last night was not clear…there were high clouds and the moon though shining…it was blurred by those clouds…

But the night before…February 27th…now that was spectacular…it was perfectly clear…no haze, no fog, no clouds…and so as I was driving “up” one of our hills…about 30 degrees or so…(in other words I “had” to see the moon…if I was in a space craft, I was pointing right at it)…so there was a full moon as far as I was concerned…the sun was not quite set, and the moon was just rising in the east…it was that white color, so beautiful and so clear, I could “see” the man in the moon…it seemed every dark outline on the moon was as “plain as day”…I had to wait until I got home to check and see if it was a full moon or not…

It is kind of like the summer solstice…the longest day of the year…really the days either side is just as wonderful…long, warm days of summer are just great…and so is the full moon…although the moon does move from phase to phase a little faster, I still enjoy clear moonlit nights as much as longer days…

And Saturday night the moon light was so bright you could read a book…the leafless trees cast a clear shadow on the ground…it was unbelievable…it gave a little more meaning to the song “Fairest Lord Jesus”…

Fair is the sunshine, fairer still the moonlight,
And all the twinkling starry host;
Jesus shines brighter, Jesus shines purer
Than all the angels heaven can boast.

Beautiful Savior! Lord of all the nations!
Son of God and Son of Man!
Glory and honor, praise, adoration,
Now and forever more be Thine.

I don’t know where it came into my life…but I am completely taken by the beauty of God’s creation…I know as I grew up I had these same thoughts and feelings but I don’t know if it came from my parents or grandparents or where…my love for beauty of nature and the talent of creative people have always been a part of my life…and as parents we have tried to pass that on…

I remember one time, in the fall of the year, when one of the kids came home and told us about his trip to school that morning…the trees were in full fall glory…and as they passed by the lake just north of us…the sun, the blue water, the color of the leaves…made him say to his friend next to him…”Wow, look at how beautiful that is.”…(or something like that)…his friend kind of looked at him strangely and said something like, “What are you talking about.”…he told us, “He didn’t even know what I was talking about.”…the fact was, his friend didn’t even see the beauty of that morning…

Well, I just can’t help it…I see the beauty of God’s creation all around us…and the creativity He has given to mankind…all of it put together is marvelous…so the first verses of the song tell more of what I am talking about…

Fairest Lord Jesus, Ruler of all nature,

Thee will I cherish, Thee will I honor,
Thou, my soul’s glory, joy and crown.

Fair are the meadows, fairer still the woodlands,
Robed in the blooming garb of spring;
Jesus is fairer, Jesus is purer,
Who makes the woeful heart to sing.

So around us today…the beauty of all that God is…it is sometimes hard to take time to “see” and understand that…but it is a world filled with the work of His Hands…and in the words of this song, written in 1677 and set to music in 1850,…are all part of the beauty of this day…

Glory and honor, praise, adoration,
Now and forever more be Thine.

So we should start now…to give glory, honor, praise, adoration…and to notice and understand all that is around us…and then we can all say, as we put that into practice: “Well, I just can’t help it”…


Leave a Reply

Categories

