Posted by: Jim E | February 14, 2010

This is a Great Story…

I am not referring to what I am about to write…but to the “story” that someone else lived…and someone else wrote about…I know you may not understand yet…but I think you will agree when we get to the end…

I have written before that everyone has a story…and that they are all so much alike…we all start the same…we end the same…and in between, though we like to talk about how different our stories are…really they are so much alike…school, family, work, relationships, experiences, etc…these are the “colors” of our lives and they may be very different in “color”…they are so much alike in reality…but all wonderful and everyone has a story worth telling…

And I would like you to experience one more…every day I read the StarTribune from Minneapolis, MN…I read it everyday when I lived there…so why stop now?…and once in a while amid the dismal and cheerless stories about whatever, comes a story, a wonderful story about real people…not personalities, not politicians, not stars…no one special but about people like you and me…

Bill and Carl Larson lived in Oklee, MN just outside Thief River Falls, in northern Minnesota…Bill died in November 2009 and three months later, in February 2010, his brother Carl…here is a picture of the two of them…Bill on the left, and his brother Carl…in their farmhouse in Oklee, MN…


Notice the krumkake and rosettes on the table…Carl was the cook in the family…we watched “Sweet Land” last night, (for my Valentine) a love story that takes place in MN…Norwegian immigrant farmers…great story that has the look of Carl and Bill’s story…”Plainsong” is another movie that has some of the touch…

Anyway, Bill and Carl’s story was in the StarTrib and I will give you the links…there are two of them…one in November and one this last week…they are wonderful and so are many of the “comments” that were left on the site…it will take you some minutes to read all of it…but give yourself some time to think as well as read…it will stir in you, your story and others that you know…

I know as I look on the picture above, I see so many people I have known…I see my both my Grandpas…my Dad…Judie’s Dad…I see so many others…why, I’m beginning to see my face in theirs…enjoy…

Responses

  1. I read the article in the star when I was waiting in the doctor’s office. It’s amazing to me that these two brothers were able to run this farm that long in their lives. I can’t remember off hand but they raised a certain type of horse and were well know on the subject. I think they had a picture of the horse and they were beautiful.


Leave a Reply

Categories

