Posted by: Jim E | February 10, 2010

Prairie Winds Cafe…Molt, MT…

For those of you who get the Parade Magazine in your Sunday paper…you know about this cafe in Molt, Mt…what am I saying…some of you never get a newspaper…let alone a Sunday paper…but if you do, well even if you don’t, I’m going to tell you about it anyway!!!…

The article is available online here…http://www.parade.com/news/2010/02/07-our-towns-making-music-on-the-prairie.html

You will enjoy the article…we have been there…we went to Billings, MT to visit relatives and while we were there someone said they found a restaurant to go to for breakfast on Saturday…the town of Molt is about 20 miles outside of Billings…out on the prairies of Montanano traffic jams…ahh, no traffic…the town has less than 10 buildings…and is at the end of the blacktop…where the road ends, you’re there…

It’s in the only brick building left in town…an old hardware store…antiques on the shelves…kitchen tables to eat on…what a great place…and great food…the business card says: “Get a Seat Before The Boys Get Here…”…and it’s true, we waited in line to get a seat…I guess we got there “after the boys got there”…

And to top off our wonderful Saturday breakfast was a bluegrass band that stood in the front window and played for everyone…

I remember well how wonderful the food was…but you know, it was the whole experience that made that meal so good…we have made the trip to Molt a couple of times…and every time it has been great…and I remember the oatmeal pie…all the pies were good but the oatmeal pie stood out to me…it is like a pecan pie but oatmeal instead of pecans…a poor man’s pecan pie…it is wonderful…I don’t know if it came out of the depression or is it an Amish pie…but it is great…you will have to go out and try it!!!…

So this is the end of my tale…and I am so hungry writing about this…wishing I was in Molt…it holds good memories and fun times…don’t you wish you were there too…soooo on your next vacation…I bet I’ve got you thinkin’…

Responses

  1. I remember you writing about this before. The food looks great.


Leave a Reply

Categories

