Posted by: Jim E | February 10, 2010

Let’s Make a Deal…

Since I have been retired…and our retirement is into its 10th year now…that is amazing…I can’t believe it has been that many years…but I have enjoyed every minute of my retirement…it hasn’t all been smooth…but that is life…and no, we haven’t traveled to far away places with strange sounding names…and I know some would say, how can that be good…haven’t you “traveled”???…”Well, yes…I traveled to Walmart this morning.”…

I really do understand what they mean of course but they don’t understand that there is satisfaction to “just” living…and do it free from the restraints that work brings and all that goes with it…it is wonderful to be free of all that…I remember very well how I would ask myself about retirement, “What do you do all day when you are not working?”…but I never asked myself what do I do when I have a day off…or a week of vacation…do you sit and look at 4 walls?…no, there are so many things to do in life…but now you have time to do them…and you no longer have to squeeze them in on a weekend or at night…it is wonderful…

I have enjoyed every minute…and used every minute…and I try not to waste a minute…

Hold the phone, stop the music…let me stop there…is the definition of wasting a minute, waiting in the parking lot for my wife to shop at a store?…well, then I have wasted a few…

I have never liked to shop…well, put it this way…if I have to shop for something…it is a quest…I know what I want, I go to where it is, I go into that place, buy it…and come out!!!…that is not exactly what Judie has in mind when she shops…her view of shopping can include “just looking”…I don’t understand what that means (well, I understand what the results may be)…does it mean you are going to look for a particular thing?…does it mean looking for a particular color?…does it mean certain style?…or does it mean, “I am not looking for anything in particular, but just looking for something to buy.”…That is the reason “I” stay in the car…in the parking lot…reading, listening to the radio…or just thinking and watching…

Now after all that…it brings me to my point today…in all my hours in a myriad of parking lots in Little Rock…I have noticed one thing in particular…lots of deals are made there…I don’t remember that happening in my ” Early Parking Lot Years” of retirement in Minnesota…but in Little Rock, I have found lots of business takes place in, let’s say, a Walmart parking lot…

A lot of cars, trucks, car and truck parts, pieces of cars and trucks…are sold in the Walmart lot…just yesterday, I watched a truck pull in with the body of a old Corvette on a trailer and sure enough another car pulled up and he began to look at it…and a sale was made…now, this Corvette was just the body, no color, just primer…no engine, no axles, no wheels, no seats, no steering wheel, no windshield…no anything…just the body of the Corvette…to me, of course, it was worthless…just the shell of a car…but to both of these guys…it may as well have been complete and new…this man could see the finished Corvette in his mind, I’m sure…

Not all the many vehicles I have seen are that good…most of these vehicles have seen their better day…some of them made me think of C. W. McCall’s song, “Classified”…hear it for yourself…it sounds like a lot of the vehicles I have seen in the Walmart parking lot…05 – Classified

So in my “Later Parking Lot Years”…I have discovered a whole new culture of sales and service…it’s let’s make a deal…Walmart parking lot style…



Leave a Reply

Categories

