Posted by: Jim E | February 1, 2010

The Pacific War…

I watching something on TV this morning…and it showed a book…it peeked my interest because something was mentioned about the Pacific War…WWII…so I got online and began to look around…and found that HBO is going to have a 10 part series on the war in the Pacific in March…

This is going to be like the HBO special, “Band of Brothers”…a series about the European Theater of World War II…it followed “Easy Company” from basic training and through the war…most of you have heard or seen it…this has the same producers…Tom Hanks, Steven Spielberg and Gary Goetzman…

As I looked into it a little further I found the website, http://www.hbo.com/the-pacific …And as I looked into it further yet, I found that the series will be based on two books and their two authors: “With the Old Breed” by Eugene Sledge (based on notes Sledge secretly kept in a copy of the New Testament)…and “Helmet for my Pillow” by Robert Lackie…both books well known…in fact the books were quoted many times in the narration of Ken Burns PBS special…”The War”…for those of you who saw that series…both men fought in the Pacific…and both wrote their memoirs…first person accounts of the battles the HBO series is going to cover…

The last person that the series will follow is John Basilone a forgotten hero of WWII…the first enlisted man to be awarded the Medal of Honor in WWII…and I imagine, to take advantage of the HBO series…a book, “Hero of the Pacific” by James Brady(not the James Brady of “Flags of Our Fathers”), has just been released…

I went to Barnes & Noble this morning to see if these books were available…the two older books are in paperback (they just came in today, they are trying to stay ahead of the game so to speak)…the new one is in hardcover…and so I purchased them…picture attached:

I would assume they will sell a huge number when the series comes out…they are less expensive on Amazon…but I had a gift card…Oo-Rah!!!…

So for those of you who love history and who love American History, this will be a wonderful series…and will tell again the story of so many young men who were “willing to make sacrifices for their country…’If the country is good enough to live in, it’s good enough to fight for.’…with privilege goes responsibility.” (E. B. Sledge)…

Responses

  1. Uncle Jim,
    I have read the With Old Breed by E. Sledge. A very good read. In fact I just finished Flyboys by J Bradley and that was a great compliment to Sledge. I truly makes me grateful for that generation and their sacrifice.

    Have you had a chance to watch the The War, I think its produced by the History Channel…its excellent. 20 hours of great footage, stories, and History.

    Thanks again for sending this stuff my way.
    Chris


Leave a Reply

Categories

