Posted by: Jim E | January 21, 2010

Missing Tooth and a Hub-Cap burger…y’all…

In case you don’t know…Arkansas is in the South…well, mid-south…what’s the difference?…I don’t know…I have learned some of this since we have lived “down here”…we hear “y’all” everyday (it is the variant of “you-all”, usually used in addressing two or more persons)…what’s worse, I live in mortal fear that I will end up saying it before long…stop the music, what if I’ve already said it!!!…

Those of us from “up North” are spotted immediately…we have an accent that stands out in stark reality to the normal speech in Arkansas…and in case you can’t guess, we are the weird ones…the way we say, Minnesota…now that is the way I think I say it…but it evidently comes out “Minnesoooota”…lots of “o’s” in there…and it has a little Scandinavian sound to it…those of us who understand that will know what I mean…

People ask us how cold is it in Minnesota or Minnesoooota?…when I tell them, I know they do not understand…the reason???…well, today on January 21…it is about 65 degrees…in Minnesota or Minnesoooota, when it gets that warm in the spring…kids on campuses across the state are in bikinis, getting their first rays of sun…but when I pulled in to get gas today…there was a young woman, who if she were in Minnesota (or, sorry, Minnesoooota) would be in shorts…she had on Ugg boots, long pants, gloves and a parka, with the hood up…this is not unusual…to me it is funny but evidently, so is my accent!!!…

Our first year in Arkansas I broke off a tooth…not a back tooth…not a “side” tooth…no, a front tooth…how?…well, let’s not get into that…but I went to the dentist…and he told me I should now feel at home in Arkansas…(a joke, that’s a joke)…anyway, you would think losing a tooth would not be a big deal…just have it fixed…ah, you have never gone to dental school have you?…it couldn’t be “just” fixed…it was a 6 or 8 month process…

Now this was a fun deal, as you can imagine…they fitted me for what they called a “flipper”…okay, enough jokes…it is something you “flip in and flip out”…in other words it is just for looks…until they can get you mouth prepared for an implant…but mind you, I used that situation every chance I got…it is a great “ice breaker” in a restaurant…or at a stop sign when you turn and smile at the people in the next car…Oh, Judie, as you can imagine, just loved it!!!…

Today the no tooth look would have come in handy…we went to a place called “Cotham’s”…it is a restaurant in a small town outside Little Rock…now when I say “small”, I mean small…a couple of houses and a couple of buildings…Arkansas is not a populous state…I will attach a picture or two of the place…built over a river on stilts…floors not level…have you ever used a restroom with an uneven floor…guess what else is uneven…you know, at that angle is hard to “do” what you have to “do”, so to speak!!!…

“Cotham’s” specialties…a hub-cap hamburger…(it’s large as…)…fried pies, onion rings, fried green tomatoes, etc…good Southern fare…oh, where was that “flipper” when I needed it!!!…




Leave a Reply

Categories

