Posted by: Jim E | January 19, 2010

Can’t Plan For Everything…Drats…

I’ve tried…but I have found you can’t plan for everything…you can plan a vacation…and most things will go right…plan a week or a day…and within certain criteria, you can be successful…plan a life, or death, or health, or finances, etc…it would be a stretch to say it will all work out…

And in politics…only when it is over can you really know…like in Massachusetts this last few weeks…the one candidate thought she had it in the bag, so to speak…but all the sudden, against all odds, a campaign broke out…

The legislature changed the law so many times to make sure the candidate of their party won…that I lost count…in 2004, it took away the governor’s power of appointment to keep the Republican governor from appointing someone from his party if John Kerry was elected president in 2004…it was changed to having a special election…

So now they have “a situation” on their hands…they changed the law for the above reason…and neither I or anyone else knows what will happen…but because they didn’t know it would turn into a close election…they have “a situation” on their hands…and they could change the law again and again…and they would be surprised again and again…

Proving again…you can’t plan for every set of circumstances…when I retired in the summer of 2000…I didn’t know 9/11/2001 attacks would occur…my small investments…suddenly became smaller…I didn’t know that the recession of 2008-2010 would happen…and my very small investments, are very small indeed…

You can’t plan for everything…really, you can’t plan for the unexpected…and there are all kinds of “unexpecteds”…you can never plan for them…and though you should try, it never will happen…it’s like the couple who said they were not going to get married until they have enough in the bank…but there are too many “unexpecteds” out there…they will never get married or they will change their mind on what “enough money is”…

I tried for a time…and at various times in our lives, to plan for Jeremy’s future…somewhat handicapped and has some needs to be taken care of…I would love to have it all figured out…but I have found…it can’t be “all” figured out…it is impossible…I don’t have the wisdom to see all the “unexpecteds”…so we do the best we can…and leave the results to God…

It is not unlike the reference I made the other day on Mother Theresa…she said, when asked about the future of her ministry when she died…”It’s none of my business.”…in the end…we do what we can, and leave the results to God…I would love to have it all mapped out…but I am content leaving it with the God of the universe…

And the longer I live…the more convinced I am this life is much more complicated, yet simple, than any of us think…things so far out of our control or ability to figure out…I am now much more content with that fact…I believe more than ever that God is in control…and whether it makes sense to me or not (and often it does not)…I would rather leave it in the hands of the One Who created the universe…than in my hands…


Leave a Reply

Categories

