Posted by: Jim E | January 10, 2010

Looking For God?…It’s Sunday…

It’s Sunday and it is has always been a special day for me…when I grew up…all three of us boys went to church with Mom…she was big on church…and got a commitment from all of us that we would always go with her…at least until we left home…we all honored our Mom with that promise…

I suppose I took it to the extreme…I was in church every Sunday it was possible for the rest of my life…(now Mom, I have missed some here and there but for the most part…I have been there)…I think she would like to know that…now I’m not bragging…it’s just the way it has been, just telling the truth…and I’m sure I am not alone…you are out there saying, “Yup, me too.!”…your Mom would be happy too!!!

Now the bigger question is why?…I really believe, at least for me…I have been looking for God…and look for Him everyday…not just on Sunday…but I look for Him in my life, in the life of my family, in the life of this country…I just am trying to see His hand everywhere…and you know, I see it…He was working today, in my life…is it always like that?…well, sorry to say it’s not always that way…but if I am looking, I see Him acting out His control of things around me…it is not always the way I would like to see things done…but I know He is in control…and I can trust Him…

I have dealt with people so far away from God that I could never see them searching for Him…so lost in themselves, being where the “action is”, addictions, etc…and though they seem so lost and have given up searching…I think of something G. K. Chesterton said: “Even when men knock on the door of a brothel they’re looking for God.”…I think he was right…everyone knows they were made for better things…but wandered away and have become less than they knew they should be…but the truth be known, they are probably closer to God than they realize…

John Piper once wrote: “This is the way God sees the world…ruled by an alien prince who is blinding the minds of unbelievers, filling them with ungodly desires, holding them captive to do his will, and then causing them to think all is well because they are right in step with the times.”…

I Corinthians 1:23-25 “But we preach Christ crucified, to the Jew a stumbling block and to the Greeks foolishness, but to those who are called, both Jews and Greeks, Christ the power of God and the wisdom of God. Because the foolishness of God is wiser than men, and the weakness of God is stronger than men.”…

Sim Kay Tee wrote:”The Jews, expecting a mighty deliverer, stumbled at a suffering servant (v. 23)…The Greeks laughed at the idea that a dying man could save (v. 23)…However, all who believe…both Jews and Greeks…experience the saving power (v. 21)…and the wisdom of God (v. 24)”…

That alien prince keeps trying to blind our minds…holding us captive…and causing us to think “we’re okay”…but to those who decide to seek the Lord will find Him…He has promised that…

You know, I think that is what my Mom had in mind from the beginning…to keep searching until we find…she was infinitely smarter than I…but I am thankful for her everyday…she is behind the searching and finding…thanks Mom…

Leave a Reply

Categories

