Posted by: Jim E | January 9, 2010

I Loved the Golf Course…

You would think growing up right next to the golf course, I would have learned to like golf, it didn’t work out that way…but as a kid I spent lots of time playing on the golf course…summer and winter…in the winter we skied both cross-country and downhill…(at Theodore Wirth Golf Course in Minneapolis, MN)…the course was full of wooded hills…a picturesque golf course…and in the summer we just played…

But let me explain…this was over 50 years ago…the picture in your mind might be cross country skis, ski tows or lifts, special clothes, the whole nine yards…let me clear that up now…no special skis, no special clothes, couldn’t afford the one rope tow they had…instead picture this…just a kid skiing to the ski hill (that’s where the cross country skiing came in…it was the way we got to the ski hills)…I must admit…even as I think about it today it was a beautiful trail…and we got to develop the trail ourselves, from our house, along the railroad tracks, through the woods, around the hills, across the golf course and to the ski hill…by the time we came home it was dark and the cross country trip home was beautiful, the moon reflecting off the snow…and the skiing was great too…the way back up the ski hill?…walking…or herring bone back up the hill…down again…back up…etc…we didn’t know it could be different…I loved it…

Summer was great too…we considered the golf course our private park…but we learned we had to watch out for the “Ranger”…he rode around in “Cushman” motorized cart…checking for problems…and chasing kids like us off the course…one of the problems he had to deal with were the many woods that were on the course and surrounding it…those woods we knew inside out…they were great places to play…he never had a chance to catch us (I really don’t know if he even wanted too)…but the game was certainly stacked in our favor…inside the “woods” were thickets so thick no one could see us and they were large enough to hide in all day if necessary…and like “Br’er Rabbit” in “Song of the South”…we loved those thickets…like he loved his “briar patch”…(click link to watch)

One day a friend of mine and I were spending some happy hours on the golf course…running from woods to woods, thicket to thicket…so thick looking from the outside, but inside you could run through them…like a cave of branches…we could play in there and run through them…it was great…we could see out but no one could see in…in one of those places, I said let’s run to the other side…I went first and ran as fast as I could…I looked up as I passed and  a paper wasp nest was hanging just over my head…I kept right on going…I yelled to Donny (incorrectly, by the way)…”BEES!!!”…I ran to the other side…and all the time heard Donny yelling and screaming…I knew what was happening…when he got to my side…he was stung all over…they got him good…not funny but we laughed…(like Br’er Rabbit and his  “Laughing Place”)…(click link)

I have never forgotten the feeling of running just inches under the nest…and will never forget the terror on the face of my friend after I stirred up all those “BEES!!!”…

Leave a Reply

Categories

