Posted by: Jim E | January 7, 2010

You Look Good, But…

Most of the nation has been in the deep freeze…and evidently it’s going to get worse…here in AR the weather forecasters on TV are beside themselves…I would like to think it is just here…but I remember well, that they were like that in MN too…snow is coming so we all run out and get bread and milk…why?…I’m not quite sure…what about meat, eggs, soup, vegetables and produce?…it seems like we need more than that to get through until tomorrow…

It is a little humorous, in AR, to the extent they hyperventilate and tell us what to have in the car as we travel…the one thing they say in AR is to have water in the car…of course that would not make much sense in MN…the water would freeze almost immediately…I remember a record-breaking winter day…in Northern MN it was somewhere around -65 actual temperature…(a proud moment for most Minnesotans…we celebrate this and state fair attendance, etc)…but someone had a banana in the car trunk and they used that to pound in a nail into a piece of wood…(that of course was immediately celebrated too…like throwing hot water in the air on a cold evening and hear it freeze in midair…bravo, kudos and stuff)…even though most people don’t believe that really happens…

Well, last night we in Little Rock were to have a catastrophe…snow, 1-2 inches…and cold weather, maybe into the teens…stores were crowded with the milk and bread people…they ran out of milk and, of course, bread…my Dad always told me to tell my kids to go into meteorology…he said either your forecast is right or you can say, “It was an upper air disturbance.”…either way you’re home free…and that is the way it was last night…no catastrophe…the snow and cold “just missed us”…”caused by an upper air disturbance.”…(my Dad was right)…

This cold spell reminds me of going to class with a friend up to St. Cloud State, in Minnesota…it was in the mid 1970’s, and it was particularly cold spell…Minnesota gets them from time to time…December – February…it’s a long three months…and I remember one night it was -35…and the wind chill was in the -60’s…”not a night for man nor beast”, my Mom used to say…and it wasn’t…it was dangerously cold…and we didn’t have the best of transportation…(in other words, the car was not really trustworthy…it was the “poor years”…you know how that goes…they lasted, about 25 years…but I digress)…

But we felt we had to go to class for some reason I don’t remember now…it is about 50 miles to St. Cloud…and, as we drove, I could picture us stranded on Hiway 10…no one else on the road…and we freezing to death…but of course, we had to get to class…the car just couldn’t get warm…it was hard to keep the front window clear of frost…it was miserable…but I was prepared…I had on “long johns”, wool socks, insolated boots, jeans, wool shirt, parka, stocking cap and “choppers”…I was ready for anything…

Then I looked over at my friend, Charlie…he had on “dancing slippers”, I called them…dress shoes, penny loafers, dress socks, dress pants, a dress long sleeved shirt, a leather waist coat, not buttoned all the way up…dress leather gloves…and no hat…

I couldn’t believe it…as we walked across the campus to class…the wind was gusting about 30 mph…and I was cold…I looked over at him and described what I saw him wearing…and said, “You are must be freezin’.”…he was almost blue and his lips were almost frozen but he got out the comment, “I may be freezin’ but I look good don’t I?”…

And then my Boy Scout motto raced across my mind…”Be Prepared”…I guess it’s a life motto, isn’t it?…

Responses

  1. Mr E…I loved this story…still laughing
    Pam
    http:/pamohdawoods.blogspot.com

    • Pam…it makes you wonder how you put up with that cold doesn’t it…we just dressed for it and “got used to it”…that’s the line everyone used…but no one ever “gets used to it”… Jim E


Leave a Reply

Categories

