Posted by: Jim E | January 6, 2010

Words…

Words…they are wonderful…a person who works with words and is a skilled writer is called a wordsmith…much like a blacksmith, someone who works with metal…and a wordsmith, like a blacksmith doesn’t just work with their medium of choice…but they are skilled with words/metal…

I worked with a person who taught metals in high school…he was a master…and artist with metal…he made things that I just couldn’t believe you could make with the tools he used…but that was what made him a true artist…

Words are no different…I am amazed at what people can do with words…I read a story on Christmas Eve…it is a great short story called, “Delayed Delivery”…by Cathy Miller…I have read it before…(in fact read it to 3,000 kids at the high school where I was principal, over the P.A.)…and you know I broke up in about the same place this time…it is a wonderful story…and the magic in the story, is the writing…it was superbly written…you know when you feel you are right in the place the author describes?…and you see all the things she describes?…all the feelings, all the smells, all the colors, all the sounds?…well, then you know what I mean…(and the kids at my high school felt that too)…

So words are wonderful…I try to learn some all the time…a wordsmith?…no…but I do love them…just the other day on a license plate I saw the word “Flump”…not frump: dowdy and unattractive…a staid, drab, old fashioned person…no it wasn’t frump…but “Flump”…I looked it up when I got home…it means to move or fall suddenly and heavily…”Flumped down into the chair”…now I can understand that word…I have “Flumped” a few times in my day…many a chair has met its match with my flumping…

A word I really like is “dappled”…it’s a word that reminds me of the Robert Frost poem, “After Apple-picking”…now you may say that is because the word is so close to the word apple…but that’s not it…instead the word and the poem come together whenever we go to the orchard in the fall…it always brings back memories of Judie, I and our kids going to an apple orchard…we picked apples, ate apples, ate apple pie…and saw the “sun dappled apples” on the tree, ready for picking…

I saw the word in relation to rain on rocks along a  Lake Superior shore…the picture is in the May-June Minnesota Conservation Volunteer…the picture was by Jim Bandenburg, called “Rain-dappled rocks, Lake Superior”…he an artist with a camera…you can see this picture by going to the website below…it is a slide show of his pictures in that issue…all worth the look…

http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/volunteer/mayjun09/summer_textures.html

So Words are a gift…I chose to continue to enjoy them…join me…

Leave a Reply

Categories

