Posted by: Jim E | December 30, 2009

Bread and Circuses

Since this is my first post on this blog…I thought I would get this off my chest…

Someone asked me something the other day…I don’t remember what it was…but out of my mouth came, “Bread and Circuses”…it had something to do with “our” politicians…it just seemed to me, that term hit the nail on the head…petty handouts politicians use to gain support, instead of sound public policy…

Later without any connection my mind jumped to where I first heard “Bread and Circuses”…it was over 45 years ago, I may have heard it in high school world history, but the first time I remember hearing it, was at the University of Minnesota…it was my world history class…hundreds of freshmen were in the lecture hall…

But I do remember the prof explaining the term and making some application to that day…it was a term used to describe some of the reason for the fall of Rome…it somehow made an impression on me…enough of an impression to remember it today…Rome used it to maintain power and control of the people…food and games…both became too expensive to continue…

We in our day suffer from this…especially in the beginning of the Obama administration…handouts financed with borrowed money…Diana West wrote a book called “The Death of the Grown Up: How America’s Arrested Development is Bringing Down Western Civilization”…she writes about the child-like society we live in…anyone above the age of 30 or so is completely out of  the loop…the importance of being an “adult” is lost and in fact “thinking” like an adult is questioned at the outset…

I remember reading Tom Brokaw’s book, “The Greatest Generation”…I read it but also heard him tell the story when he was being interviewed about the book…I believe his mother was telling him the story…she worked in the post office in their hometown in South Dakota…she and a man were at talking and a couple of kids came in and were talking about the pranks they did the night before on Halloween…the man she was talking to criticized the boys about being so childish…

The boys then said to him something like, “Well, what were you doing when you where 16?”…his answer was something like, “I was face down in the sand on Guadacanal.”…he had fought in WWII, lied about his age…and what he was really saying to a spoiled and childish generation…grow up and become an adult…

Teenagers are a modern invention…a few generations ago in America, you where a child or you were an adult…and you wanted to be an adult!!!…my grandfather’s generation grew up fast…no time for fun or ignoring the realities of life…we in America need to grown up and put off our love affair with childhood…face the real world out there…it is cruel, mean, sometimes evil…and wants to “eat us for lunch”…

So it is our civic duty to stand for what is right…for liberty, freedom and an America that decides to wake up and see the danger we are in today…

Leave a Reply

Categories

